Music Monday! Week 9.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday, the video I decided to share with you today is by will.i.am called “Ghetto Ghetto”. Unfortunately, this song doesn’t have a official music video yet, but I just had to share it because to me this song has powerful lyrics.  I am very impressed by this song, as well as the lyrics. I don’t mind the fun upbeat songs that are released nowadays, but I’ve been missing songs that have a true meaning to them or tell a story. To me music means to express ourselves and what we wish to say out loud that we usually would not have the courage to express. Sometimes musicians use music as a way to make a bold statement or express how they feel about a certain issue in the world. Examples of such songs are the “Earth Song” By Michael Jackson, “Skyscraper” by Demi Lovato, “We Are The World” written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie, produced by Quincy Jones. Of course these are not the only meaningful songs, the “Earth Song” overtly dealt with the environment and animal welfare, “Skyscaper” is about struggling with life’s challenges and facing the adversity head on and “We Are The World”  is a charity song which is about caring for others and bring peace throughout the world, so the world can become a better place.

I love listening to songs that inspire me or just make me feel emotional about a song because the lyrics are just so meaningful. This what will.i.am’s song “Ghetto Ghetto” made me feel and I instantly fell in love with it. This song basically talks about children who live in poverty and how it is important to change this cycle where some children grow up and go down the wrong path. As a university graduate who studied child and youth care, I immediately began to analyze this song and it fits exactly with the kind of work child and youth care counselors deal with. A particular part in the song really spoke to me was this one:

How we let our little children destroying the goblin
Why we got them all killing and stealing and robbing
We need to plan a little seed to prevent the mobbing
Why don’t we teach them that science to reach for the stars?

Children are our future, so we should strive and help them in any way we can to influence them positively and encourage them to live their dreams. I bow down to will.i.am for writing this song because I think it is brilliant. His collaboration with Baby Kaely is great and this little girl has such a great talent. I am very happy to hear that will.i.am did not use auto-tune for this particular song, I honestly think he doesn’t need it because he sounds great on this track. I sincerely hope he makes a music video for this song and when he does I will most definitely post the video on my blog.

Enjoy!

See you soon.

Leave a Reply

