Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome to day two of 90s week, today I have two albums and music videos to share with you, so let’s get started.

ALBUMS

The album I chose as number 8 is the Lion King Soundtrack, which was released in July 1994 and it sold 10,300,000 copies. This album is my next pick because to me this movie soundtrack is a classic and it is the decade’s second biggest selling soundtrack album. The album is best known for composer Elton John who won a Grammy for Best pop vocal performance, lyricist Tim Rice and the orchestra work of the brilliant Hans Zimmer. The album also received a Grammy for Best musical album for children, some of the best well known songs from this album are “Circle of Life”, ” I Just Can’t Wait To Be King”, “Can You Feel The Love Tonight” and many more. This soundtrack is a huge part of my childhood!

The album I chose as number 7 is “Fanmail” by TLC.The album was released in February 1999 and it sold 6,300,000 copies. The album reached number one on the Billboard charts as soon as it was released and the album won a Grammy for Best R&B album and for Best R&B performance by a duo or group with vocal – No Scrubs. This has to be my favorite album by TLC!

MUSIC VIDEOS

The music video I chose as number 8 is “U Can’t Touch This” by MC Hammer. The song was released on January 13, 1990 and up to this day it is considered as one the most popular song of the 90s. This is a fun, upbeat with song with an iconic catchphrase “Stop, Hammer time!” The track receive 5x platnum and it reach number one on the Billboard charts.

The music video I chose as number 7 is “Virtual Insanity” by Jamiroquai. The single was released on August 16, 1996 and it reached number 3 on the UK Singles Charts. Jamiroquai won awards for his single for Breakthrough Video and the Best Video of the Year. To this day I still consider this music video very unique!

Enjoy and see you tomorrow!

