Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Before I begin with today’s post, I would like to apologize for not posting anything yesterday for Music Monday. There was a power outage in my city, due to heavy rain and unfortunately that ruined my plans of posting Music Monday’s video. Music Monday is returning for sure next Monday, let’s hope we don’t have power outages again 🙂

Today I will talk to you about a completely different topic from music and that is books! I have to admit that I am quite a nerd when it comes to books because I can literally sit all day at home and read. I find it very enjoyable and whenever I read it feels like I’ve entered a fantasy world. My favorite genres are fantasy, fiction, dystopian, adventure and romance. However, my personal preference is a mix of all of those genres, in fact I have read books that include a little bit of each of those book genres.

heart me

Believe or not I didn’t used to be the bookworm I am today, I actually despised books. When I was a child I wasn’t one of those kids who enjoyed reading stories and going to the library. Instead I used to listen to music, watch MTV and cartoons all day. Whenever we had to read a storybook in elementary or middle school I used to cry because I hated being forced to read books. Taking a look back when I was in grade 9, I remember the teacher assigned us to read seven books, then we had to write an assignment about the books and the teacher would ask us questions that would test our knowledge about the plot. Let me tell you that was the most dreadful semester just because of this specific book assignment.

However things started to change towards the end of grade 12. When I was in grade 12 I noticed most of the girls from my grade reading the Twilight Saga books. I remember their faces and how fascinated they seemed as they were reading the book series. I asked one of them what the story was about and they told me it was about a vampire falling in love with a human girl. When she told me that I thought it was the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard, but it’s ironic because it was the Twilight Saga books that turned me into a bookworm. Who knew that would happen. When I started university in September 2008, there was a lot of hype about the Twilight movie, so I asked one of my friends to tell me more about the story and this time I was intrigued. I was really busy with school then, so I waited a few months and in December I went to the bookstore. I decided to go to Indigo Chapters, which is a huge bookstore franchise in Canada. Keep in mind I have never walked inside a book store before that specific moment, so this was a big deal for me. I know I am making it sound dramatic, but to me it was a big step. I walked into the store and my initial thought was “Omg it smells like books”. It felt like I was walking inside a museum because the store was huge. I asked one the salesman where I can find the Twilight books and he showed me the way. It was pretty hard to miss the Twilight section because there were a bunch of merchandise and cardboard cutouts.

I picked up the first book and I started reading the prologue, I was definitely sucked in at this point. There was so much mystery and it seemed very intriguing, so I went downstairs and purchased my first book. Afterwards, I went on the subway to go home and as I was listening to my music I got bored, so took out the book and began reading. I couldn’t stop reading it and I almost missed my stop because I was really into it the story. My mother was surprised to see me read a book out of my own free will because she knows I hated books. So eventually I finished reading the Twilight Saga series and I tried to find more interesting and similar book series. I found many books series that I fell in love with and now I am a proud bookworm.

I am slowly starting my book collection and I wanted to share what books I have purchased and what books I have read.

My Book Collection!

My Book Collection!

Starting from left to right, I own the Twilight Saga along with a short Eclipse novella, The Host (which I am currently reading), The Hunger Games, Matched, Crossed, Divergent, Insugent, Delirium, The Book of Awesome, The Night Circus, The Carrie Diaries and Game of Thrones (the first book).

Matched and Crossed are part of a dystopian trilogy written by Ally Condie and the series is about a girl named Cassia who lives it this “perfect” world created by the Society. The Society decides everything that you do, for instance who you marry, what you eat, where you work, what you should wear, when to go to bed and etc. When Cassia turned 17 she attended a matching ceremony, where she is matched with the person she will marry, however some things change. I really enjoyed reading these books and I still have to buy the final book of this series. Divergent is also a dystopian trilogy written by Veronica Roth and the first book is currently being made into a movie. I am very excited about that because I love this series. This trilogy takes place in Chicago and the city is divided into five factions which represent a specific characteristic: Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave) and Erudite (the intelligent) (source wikipedia). When a person turns 16, they have to take an aptitude test that will determine if you are compatible with another faction. If you are compatible with another faction you get to choose whether you want to leave your faction or not. If you decide to leave, people will consider you a traitor and you can’t go back to you old faction.

Delirium is another dystopian trilogy written by Lauren Oliver and this is about a society that believe love is a disease, therefore when you turn 18 you have to get surgery to remove any feelings of love. It is a very bizarre plot, but it is interesting and it is a story of rebelling against this absurd notion. The Book of Awesome is written by Neil Pasricha and I love this book because it lists fun little things about everyday life that are awesome. For example, eating the extra fries at the bottom of the bag or waiters and waitresses who bring free refills without asking. I think every bookworm should own this book, it is so positive and it makes me smile. The Night Circus is a fantasy novel written by Erin Morgenstern, which is a story that take place in Victorian London where a wandering circus is open from sunset to sunrise. The circus comes and goes without any warning and there are two magicians who have to fight in a magic duel. The story is romantic, magical and mysterious and it is absolutely breathtaking. The final book is Game of Thrones which is written by George R.R. Martin and it is medieval fantasy book. I just started reading it and so far I think it is a great book. As for The Carrie Diaries, I haven’t started reading the book yet, but I can’t wait.

I am always interested to hear what books people are reading, so let me know in the comments below what are some of your favorite books.

See you soon.

 

