VMAs 2013 Review.

Hello everyone,

Last night was VMA night and as usual something always happens, which stirs up a discussion in Hollywood. To be honest, I did not watch the VMAs because I was busy yesterday, however I went on Youtube and I watched all of the performances. I have a lot to say, so I am going to get started with this review. 

The highlight of this year’s VMAs for me was the Justin Timberlake and Nsync performances. Justin performed a medley of “Take Back The Night”, “Sexy Back”, “Like I Love You”, “My Love”, “Cry Me A River”, “Rock Your Body”, “Suit and Tie” and “Mirrors”. Not only does Timberlake have the vocal abilities, but he has the moves too and my inner nine year old was very happy to see him perform classic songs and new hits. However, the moment that got excited the most is the much anticipated Nsync reunion. I have been waiting for this moment for years and I was thrilled to see them together on stage again. They performed “Girlfriend” and “Bye Bye Bye, their performance was short, but it was worth it.

Lady Gaga opened the VMAs with her hit single “Applause” and even after a hip surgery, the singer showed the audience that she can still deliver an energetic performance. Gaga had three outfit changes and towards the end of the performance she ended up in a bikini made of shells. Her final wardrobe change did not seem necessary, but that’s Lady gaga for you, always surprising us.

Katy Perry was another musician that performed last night and she performed her newest single “Roar”. The singer performed outside of the MTV venue in Brooklyn in a boxing ring, this was a very fitting performance for this song. Her vocals sounded great and she was giving this performance 100%. I was definitely impressed!

As for Bruno Mars, well he is always classy and I loved his performance. Bruno performed his song “Gorilla” and his vocals were outstanding, this performance gets an A+ in my books.

Just like many fans and celebrities, I was left speechless by Miley Cyrus’s performance last night and in a bad way. Last night Miley Cyrus performed her hit song “We Can’t Stop” and afterwards there was a follow up performance with  Robin Thicke. Her performance with Robin was inappropriate because she tripped down to a bikini and started gyrating. I think Miley should have thought twice about her actions and what she does with a married man. On the other hand, her “We Can’t Stop” performance was not impressive and I was actually expecting a better comeback on the stage. Instead her performance consisted of giant teddy bears, Miley patting a girl’s behind and wearing an over sized foam finger. The over sized foam finger may not sound scandalous, but when she was performing with Robin Thicke it was put on places it should never go. Her vocal skills throughout the performance did not impress me because her voice sounded shaky. I understand she wants to prove to the world that she is grown up now, but this can be done in a classy and mature way. 

I will end this post with a Justin Timberlake and Nsync performance video and some pictures from last night’s show. The video was recorded by a YouTube user, when I find a better quality I will post a new video. Let me know what all of you thought of this year’s VMAs, I would love to read your opinions.

VMAs 2013


See you soon.

Leave a Reply

