Tags

, , , ,

Hello everyone,

As a music blogger I always keep up with what’s happening in the world of music. One of the most recent news is the Sinead O’Conner vs Miley Cyrus feud. There is no doubt that Miley’s new image and recent performances has stirred up major controversy, which made some celebrities speak out about the star. To name a few are Elton John, Shenae Grimes, P!nk, Demi Lovato, Lady Gaga and many more. Among these stars, not everyone says something bad about Miley’s behavior. However, if you are curious to know what they said, here is the scoop.

 Elton John

“I look at Miley Cyrus and I see a meltdown waiting to happen,” “And she’s so young! But she’s got two records in the top 20, so who is going to stop her?”

Shenae Grimes

“WTF is up with Miley’s new music video?” “I mean, I don’t know the girl but if I did I’d demand she bath twice, put some clothes on and give her a big hug…looks like she needs it.”

P!nk

“She’s really freaking talented; she’s beautiful,” “She can sing her ass off and to go up there and do that? She’s cheating herself and she’s cheating the rest of us… She can do what she wants. People can like it if they want. I’m not going to buy it. She can do better. I’ve seen her do better.”

Demi Lovato

“She knows how I feel about the whole partying thing,” “I love her to death and I’m always like, ‘Just be careful’ and she’s like, ‘Dude, I’m chilling. It’s fine.’ But I care for her so much that I’m so protective, but she’s good. She’s got a good head on her shoulders.”

Lady Gaga

“I just think everybody needs to lighten up and leave her alone.” “Because it’s pop music; everybody’s entitled to their own artistic expression and if you have a problem with it just change the channel.” “I don’t understand the obsessive need to constantly go on and on about hating things all the time because, what, she’s 20 years old and, if anything, I give her props,” “She’s growing up in front of the entire world and maybe she’s not so happy with the things she did in her career when she was younger and she wants to be free. So let her do what she wants.”

Now going back to the feud issue, here is a brief summary of what exactly happened! Sinead wrote a very public letter to Miley warning her not to become a toy of the music industry. Meaning stripping down and being treated as a sex object. On one hand, I do understand Sinead’s point of view, however I believe Miley is very conscious of her actions. She knows exactly what she is doing and she knows this will attract people’s attention. Miley has stated that she wants her new album to be very successful and to be considered legendary in later years. I do think Sinead should have been more discreet about the way she decided to reach out to Miley, this should have been private instead of for the public to see. I also think that Miley should not have made mental illness remark to Sinead, because mental illness is a serious matter and not something to be joked about. Bottom line, both sides are wrong in this situation.

There are a lot of opinions about Miley’s behavior and whether it is right or wrong. My opinion is that she is being racy with her performances, but she is doing it merely for the attention aspect. She wants to be a memorable artist, so she wants to WOW the public by what she does. Is what she is does necessarily a good choice, I would say no to that. However, keep in mind she is young and in a way she is trying to find herself. I truly believe this is her way to tell the public that she is grown up, because she desperately wants to escape the Hannah Montana image. I personally do not approve of how she acts and I think in later years she is going to look back on these years and say “What the heck was I thinking?”  Let’s hope the star doesn’t take it too far, to a point where she might regret it. Miley Cyrus is talented and there is no need for her to act in a provocative manner, all she needs is her talent to impress people.

Let me know what you think about the whole Miley issue, I’m always interested in reading your opinions. Please remember to be respectful towards each other and each other’s opinions in the comments box below.

See you soon!

