Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome to the third segment on my blog called Lifestyle Sundays, this will not be a regular segment. I wanted to create this segment because I’ve been wanting to write about various topics, which are not related to music or fashion. I have a few topics in mind, but I will not reveal them now. For my first “Lifestyle Sunday” post, I am going to write about a serious topic, bullying.

This week it is Bullying Awareness Week in Canada, this week long event was created by Bill Belsey. During this week there are presentations in schools to educate children about the seriousness of bullying. The biggest and most important point that Bill Belsey tries to explain to us is that we as a community have to join hands and put a stop to bullying. I couldn’t agree more with his ideology, this is a topic that very dear to my heart. When I immigrated with my family to Canada, I used to be teased by the kids at school. Luckily, it wasn’t anything major, but mostly being teased because I had an accent and I am a foreigner. When I was an undergrad student at the Child and Youth Care program, I wrote my thesis paper about bullying. I feel very dedicated to this cause and I do believe change is rooted in our community. Just like Bill Belsey says, I want to see bullying disappear from society and change is possible as long as we unite together and bring awareness to the community.

Now let’s talk about what is bullying and what are the different types of bullying.

Bullying is a serious matter that can be expressed in different ways. There are three types of bullying: physical bullying, verbal bullying and relational bullying. Physical bullying includes behaviors such as kicking and hitting, verbal bullying includes behaviors such as teasing and ridicule and relational bullying is a form social isolation that includes behaviors such as gossiping and spreading rumors. Victims of bullying can experience psychological distress, anxiety, depression, loneliness, low self-esteem and much more. Many adults claim that bullying is natural part of growing up and I highly disagree with this statement. I don’t think it is normal to hit, ridicule and isolate children through bullying.

Bullying can have a psychological impact on children.

Bullying awareness needs to begin at the child’s household, parents need to be educated about the consequence of bullying and the effects it can have on children. I am tired of reading about teenagers committing suicide because they were bullied. It breaks my heart reading such tragedy and it needs to stop. Parents need to take bullying seriously and talk to their children, not once, but on a regular basis. School personnel have to be educated about bullying and try to implement anti-bullying programs within the schools. They have to educate children that bullying is toxic and teach children to stand up for their peers when they are bullied.

As a community we need to join hands and come up with strategies that will bring awareness not only at a society level, but global level as well. Bullying happens anywhere and in any country, of course it difficult to create a world change or completely eliminate bullying, but we can try to create societal change.

As a community we can accomplish a lot.

“Be the change you want to see in the world.” -Mahatma Gandhi

See you tomorrow for Music Monday!

p.s. Please check out the bullying awareness website (http://www.bullyingawarenessweek.org/)

