Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,
Welcome to the first blog post of 2014, I am back with another Friday Funday post and I am excited. I hope everyone had a great start to the new year, it has just begun and there is a lot more to look forward to this year.
For today’s Friday Funday post, I wanted to do another fun tag that I see countless of bloggers and YouTubers do on the Internet. I am not a beauty guru, but I am a beauty/makeup enthusiast. I love to buy makeup and beauty products, I think I go a little bit overboard sometimes. Since I am such a huge lover of makeup, I thought this tag would be perfect for me. It is even more perfect because 95% the makeup I own is drugstore makeup. I could buy a higher end makeup products, but buying a lipstick for $40 seems a little bit ridiculous. When I buy high end makeup products, I prefer to buy a makeup set or kit, this way you get more for a higher price.
If you are a makeup lover like me and own a ton of drugstore makeup, then I tag you to do this tag.
Enjoy!
1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?
This one is hard because I like a lot of brands, but the ones that I like the most are Revlon, Maybeline and Almay.
I have been using Revlon products for years and I love their lip products and eye makeup. The eye makeup is pigmented and this is always a bonus because I dislike sheer eye makeup. As for their lip products, half of the lip products I own are from Revlon, I love how they feel and look on my lips.
I have always used Maybeline products, but it wasn’t until recently that I started buying more makeup from this brand. I am huge fan of their color tattoo cream eye-shadows, their cream blushes and their new color elixir gloss. I am finding myself checking out the Maybeline row of the makeup isle more often nowadays.
Almay is new favorite brand for me, I have used their eye makeup before, but now I love them for their face makeup. I always had trouble finding the right concealer and foundation, but now thanks to Alway my search is finally over. Phew 🙂
 2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?
I’ve never had big problem with my skin when I was a teenager, but recently I’ve been having my days where my skin is breaking out more than usual. My favorite face product that has been helping is the Almay Clear Complexion Blemish Healing Spot Concealer. This is the best concealer I have ever used, it has 1% of salicylic acid that helps treat the acne, as well as conceal it. I have very fair skin, so concealing acne is a problem, but this product blends in nicely with my skin tone and conceals my blemishes.
20140103-230128.jpg
For a favorite cheek product I’ve been loving is the Maybeline Dream Bouncy Blush. In the past I’ve always used powder blushes, but I kept seeing the advertisement for this blush and I felt intrigued. The reason for my initial hesitation towards this product was because I thought the cream consistency will make the color look cakey on my skin. I finally gave in last month and decided to get it because I had enough of powder blushes. To my surprise, this turned out to be a great product and it blends in nicely. Now I have a nice subtle rosy glow on my cheeks.
20140103-230136.jpg
I don’t even have to think twice about my favorite lip product because it is the Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain. This lip products solved my lip color dilemma for good. I am not a fan a reapplying lip colors every time I eat or drink, it is a hassle for me. I have tried many lip stains in the past and none of them stained my lips properly. This product is different, the moisturizing color balm feels nice and smooth on the lips and most of all I don’t have to reapply the color again after eating. The color may not be as vibrant as when it was initially applied on my lips, but there is still color. I’ll be repurchasing this product forever.
20140103-230143.jpg
3. Least favorite product?
As much as I like Revlon, there is one product that let me down and that is their ColorStay Ultimate Suede. I like to try out Revlon’s new lip products, so I thought this lip product will be perfect because it’s been said to have a long lasting formula. I don’t think the long lasting formula part is accurate, as usual I always moisturize my lips before putting on any lip products. After I moisturized my lips and put on this color, I noticed the color was rubbing off my lips. All I had done was drink some tea and have my breakfast sandwich, I was very disappointed because as it was said I thought this lip color will stay on my lips throughout the day. Hopefully Revlon will try this again and come up with a better formula.

20140103-230150.jpg

4. What is the best makeup bargain?
I am going to have to go for Essence, it is a new brand and it is very affordable. However, I love their eyes shadow palettes the most because they are pigmented and have a great mix of matte and shimmery color. They are also a great traveling size and they cost approximately $3. Sounds like a great bargain to me.
20140103-230158.jpg
5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)
The  underdog brand that I love is  NYC. I have been using NYC since my high school days and I think it deserves more love. I have used everything by them, except for their foundation, concealer and face/eye primer. I think the quality of their makeup is great for such an affordable brand. My favorite NYC product is their NYC Ultra Moisture Lip Wear Lipsticks, they apply nice and smooth on the lips and have a nice sweet scent. I actually love it when my lip sticks have a scent, so this is definitely a bonus.20140103-230204.jpg
6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?
The first product that pops into my head is the Revlon ColorStay Foundation which is $20 at my local drugstore. For a drugstore brand, this is a price close to a higher end foundations and that is a big no-no in my books. If it is a lower end brand, keep the price affordable. This is my only complaint, for all I know this may be a great foundation, but the price needs to be lower for a drugstore product.
7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!
As I stated at the beginning of this post, I do not own a lot of high end make up, but if I had to choose then it would be the Revlon Balm Stain and the Clinique Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Color Balm. I personally do not own the Clinique balm, but I did try it in a store to see if I should buy it. I personally do not see any difference between the two, so instead I would buy the Revlon balm stain.
8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?
I really don’t think EOS balms are worth the hype, I am currently using a Lush lip balm which is fantastic. However, I wanted to try the EOS balm because everyone is talking about this product, truthfully it does not moisturize the lips well. It makes them feel dry and chapped, I’ll finish using the product since I recently bought it, but I will not be purchasing it in the future.
20140103-230211.jpg
For all the beauty lovers out there, let me know what is your favorite drugstore product? Also if you want to see more beauty/makeup posts, please like or comment on this post.
See you soon!
