Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday, so this week after the Grammys I was browsing for old favorite Daft Punk songs, while I was browsing I came across a old band I used to listen to, Gorillaz. Do any of you remember them? I completely forgot about them, but I used to listen to them a lot.

For those of you who don’t know who they are, here is some background information! Gorillaz is an English band created in 1998 by Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett, the band is presented by virtual animated characters. In their music videos, the musicians do not appear, but their cartoon personas.

There are four animated members: 2D (lead vocalist), Murdoc Niccals (bass guitar and drum machine), Noodle (guitar, keyboard) and Russel Hobbs (drums and percussion). The band is included in the Guinness Book of World Records for being one of the most successful virtual animated bands for selling over seven million copies. The band has won many awards, including a Grammy award for Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals.

Growing up, I thought the animation was kind of weird, I still think that, but I’m warming up to it. Listening to them again made me want to see a modern day virtual animated band, I think that would be pretty cool. As for the song I will share with you today, I had a hard time picking only one, so I chose two music videos by them. The first song is “Feel Good Inc” and “Clint Eastwood”, these two songs are Gorillaz classics.

Enjoy and let me know if you ever listened to this band and which song you like the most 🙂

Before I end this post, I have to talk about the Bruno Mars and Red Hot Chilli Peppers performance at the Super Bowl 48 (XLVIII) HalfTime Show. The perfect to describe it with two words is classy+edgy, this was the perfect combination. Bruno Mars put on quite a show and showed us he has got the moves, starting off the show with upbeat songs and then moving on to something more mellow. His performance reminded me of Motown performances, it was refreshing and fun to watch. Then we had a blast from the past, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, I was happy to see them perform again and they still rock out the way they used to. Overall, I give this performance 10/10.

See you soon!

