Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to another Friday Funday blog post, today’s post is for all of my girly followers and it is my first ever DIY project. I don’t know about you guys, but finding a way to organize my earring studs is not fun. I went to many stores trying to find the best earrings organizer, but nothing was to my liking. That’s why I decided to take matters into my own hands and make my own jewelry box and since I was on a roll, I decided to make a makeup brush holder too.

I initially got this idea from good old Google, Google to the rescue, right? There were many DIYs, but one in particular caught my eye and I decided to modify some things, so it suits me. So let’s get started and I’ll explain each step thoroughly.

DIY Earring Studs Organizer

The materials you will need for your jewelry box can be found in the Dollar Store, Walmart or Target, but I bought all of my materials from the Dollar Store.

20140214-234739.jpg

First you’ll need a plain wooden box, the reason why you need a plain one is so that you can design it to your liking. The look I chose is inspired by the bohemian/hippie style!

20140214-234750.jpg

Next you’ll need acrylic paint, the colors I chose are black, silver and blue, but of course you can choose any colors you want.

20140214-234804.jpg

Next you’ll need paint brushes, try to find ones that come in different sizes.

20140214-234815.jpg

Now begin painting the entire box, the top, bottom, front, back and the sides, I decided to paint mine my favorite color, blue.

20140214-234832.jpg

20140214-234842.jpg

Now it’s totally up to you, but if you wish you can pain the metal edges. Mine were originally gold, but I decided to paint them silver.

20140214-234859.jpg

Open up the box and being painting the interior, I decided to stick with blue and I painted the outer corners silver.

20140214-234912.jpg

After waiting for a few hours for the paint to dry, draw a circle on top of the box to create the peace sign. You want to draw around circle, trying to paint a nice neat line.

20140214-235205.jpg

When everything is done, your box will look something like this. Pretty cool, right? πŸ™‚

20140214-234925.jpg

We are not quite done yet, we still need to finish the jewelry box. Next you’ll need felt paper, I chose dark blue because it goes nicely with the color scheme of the box. The felt paper is very thick, so what you need to do is roll it up very tightly.

20140214-235034.jpg

When you finish rolling it, use your hot glue gun and put glue on the edge of the felt paper and next press firmly, so that the rolls do not unroll.

20140214-235041.jpg

The simply put the rolls inside, organize your earrings and you are done. See, that was super easy and quick to do and it was fun too. Now onto the other DIY project πŸ™‚

Makeup Brush Holder

I am a huge lover of Bath and Body Works scented candles, but I’m always left with many glass jars. So I decided to turn one of them into a makeup brush holder, for that you will need a knife to take out the wax and liquid dish soap to wash the wax and sticky residue. With the knife, gently cut around the circle wax shape and then when the wax is loose, dump it out in the garbage bin. The next step is simply to wash the glass jar, now since this is a theme, this makeup brush holder will have a peace sign on it too.

Β 20140214-235112.jpg

You’ll need to cut out a paper circle, put a small peace of tape on the paper and then tape it inside the jar.

20140214-235059.jpg

Next, try to find jewel stickers if you want some sparkle on your makeup brush holder. Simply trace around the circle cut out shape and place your stickers.

20140214-235049.jpg

When that’s done, you are left with a fashionable and chic set.

I hope you enjoyed my very first DIY post, please share with me your recreations, I’ll be happy to see them πŸ™‚ Now since I posted this Friday’s post late, sorry about that everyone, to make it up to you I will have a Friday Funday post next and the week after that. Friday Funday is an every other week segment, but I want to make it up to you next week for being late this week.

Let me know what you think of my DIY creations and if you plan to make your own πŸ™‚

See you soon!

