Tags

, ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to another Music Monday, I hope everyone is having a good one so far. Well, I am very excited because I can finally share with you Katy Perry’s new music video, “Dark Horse”.

Sales of the single sky rocketed ever since Katy Perry’s performance at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards. Two weeks ago, the promotional poster for the single was released, on it Katy transformed into Cleopatra. It seemed very intriguing and this weekend I finally got the chance to watch it. My thoughts on it? It was alright. According to Katy Perry, the idea for this video was to combine elements of Ancient Egypt and Memphis (an ode to Juicy J’s hometown), where Katy plays the protagonist, Katy Patra (her outer ego). Throughout the video, Katy Perry shows different fashion looks, all unique and interesting. In the video, she has suitors coming to her, giving her gifts like a diamonds, hot Cheetos (that’s when the “what on earth” came to mind). With the first suitor, she turns him into sand, takes his jewels which wears as a grill on her teeth. The second suitor, brings her the hot Cheetos and candy, after eating one of the Cheetos, which burns her mouth, she turns the suitor into water which she drinks. Afterwards, rapper Juicy J makes an appearance, while Patra continues to collect gifts and at the end of the video she turns the final suitor into a dog with a human head.

I’ll just let that sink in for a bit, while I share some screenshots from the music video.

First of all, the visuals, costumes and creativity were well done, however, I was expecting more from this music video. My first reaction when I watched the first 15 seconds of the video were “Wow amazing visuals”, progressively it turned into, “What on Earth?” Whenever I listen to a song before the music video is released, I always imagine the music video based on the lyrics of the song. For “Dark Horse”, I expected the music video to have a vibe like the “Underworld The Rise of Lycans” movie, basically a serious music video. Katy Perry’s version of it seemed a bit more comedic to me, I am always willing to give a song and a music video a second chance, but when it comes to this music video, I am not a big fan. On the other hand, Katy has been getting a lot of hate from people because of the Illuminati reference, there are online petitioners who are asking YouTube to take down the video. In all honesty, I do not think it was Katy’s intention to offend anyone, she is merely trying to create something different and interesting, but it got blown out of proportion.

Let’s just say that it isn’t the most amazing video, but it isn’t that bad either. What does everyone else think? Please share your opinions in the comments box below and remember, each opinion should respected and not insulted.

Enjoy 🙂

See you soon!

