Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Our favorite day of the week is finally here and what better way to celebrate, than bringing a little bit of Disney magic in today Friday Funday post. As most of your know by now, I am a big kid at heart and I am in love with Disney movies. Last week I watched “Frozen” with my friend and I absolutely loved it, I thought it was amazing. While I was watching it, I got the idea of sharing with you my top 10 favorite Disney movies, there will also be a part II of this post with my top 10 Disney song picks. This post will be coming on April 4, 2014, so make sure you stay tuned for that.

Enjoy!

TOP 10 DISNEY MOVIES

10. Lady and The Tramp

When I think of Lady and the Tramp, I think of the cute spaghetti kiss scene, for me this is the cutest Disney movie I have watched. The movie was released in 1955 which is part of the Original Classics Era. I love the 50s vibe it has and I still like to watch it 🙂

9. Frozen

Frozen, the modern day Disney movie and part of a new Disney era is quite amazing. Honestly, I was skeptical about it because I am a bit attached to my Disney generation, but the new Disney era is top notch. Of course, I loved the song “Let It Go” and my favorite character is Olaf, he made me laugh. I am definitely willing to give this new Disney era a chance because it seems awesome.

8. Tarzan

Tarzan is the final movie of the Disney  Renaissance Era, it was released in 1999 and it debuted in number one. I love this movie because it is very adventurous and also kind of mysterious, I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat waiting to see what will happen next. Of course as a music lover, I had to pay attention to the music in the movie and I have to say that I loved it. Phil Collins is a great addition to the soundtrack, his songs are catchy and wonderful.

The movie won an Academy Award for Best Song, a Golden Globe for Best Original Song and a Grammy Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack Album for Motion Picture, Television and Other Visual Media.

7. Beauty and The Beast

I have to admit, the reason why I love this movie is because of the love story between Belle and the Beast. I love how Disney movies have a special messages and this one is “Do not judge a book by its cover.” The development of their relationship is wonderful and I love Belle’s loyal and strong character.

The movie was released in 1991 and it won two Academy Award for Best Music/Original Song, best Music/Original Score, two Golden Globes for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy, Best Original Song and three Grammy Awards for Best Album for Children, Best Instrumental Composition Written for a Motion Picture, Best Song Written for a Motion Picture or for Television and Best Pop Instrumental Performance.

6. Pinocchio

The animation of this movie is one of a kind and it is stunningly beautiful. When I watched Pinocchio as a kid, I had many emotions going through me, sadness, happiness, confusion. There was so much going on in the movie, I felt emotionally invested in it. I love how Disney movies have a comedic side and then all of the sudden a movie with a serious plot is released. Despite the emotional rollercoaster ride I went through when I watched this movie as a child, this will always remain as one of the most special and unique ones for me. I also addicted to the music, my favorite song is “Wish Upon A Star.

The movie was released in 1940, if you have not watched it, watch it and you won’t regret it.

5. Alice in Wonderland

Words are not enough to describe how much I love Alice in Wonderland, we all have an imagination, but Alice’s is one of a kind. I have a very rich imagination, which is a benefit for me because it allows me to be creative. I am glad I haven’t lost that sense of imagination that I had when I was a child and that’s exactly why I love this movie and the rich imagination. Alice is daydreaming about a world where the impossible things she wants exist and a world where she is free to do whatever she wants. I was mesmerized by the way the story was told and watching Alice’s adventure. My favorite scenes are the Mad Hatter tea party, the Cheshire Cat and Tweedledee and Tweedledum.

This is a movie from the Original Classics Era and it was released in 1951.

4. 101 Dalmatians

101 Dalmatians was released in 1961 which is based on the novel by Dodie Smith, the first time I watched this movie is when my mom played it for me while she was in the kitchen cooking. I would get my blanket and some of my favorite stuffed animals and I wouldn’t move from the couch for an hour. I think I’ve watched this movie as much as I have watched The Lion King, my favorite scene is the Twilight Bark scene. Following Pongo and Perdita journey to find their puppies is exciting and the cutest story.

3. Aladdin

Aladdin was released in 1992, I was initially drawn to this movie because of its Arabic theme, I thought the whole movie was beautiful. Every little girl has her favorite Disney princess and mine was Jasmine, I thought she was the prettiest Disney princess and I loved her outfits. I am also sure that if you grew up watching Disney, you had a favorite prince that you thought was dreamy, for me that was Aladdin. Everything from the animation, the characters, the story and the music is my favorite. However, my favorite thing about this movie is the love story between Jasmine and Aladdin, I am a hopeless romantic and I love these kinds of movies.

Aladdin won two Academy Awards for Best Music/Original Score and Best Music/Original Song for ‘Whole New World”.

2. The Little Mermaid

Under the sea, under the seaaaaaa, does this ring a bell? I’ve been having this song stuck in my head all week, that may be because the kids at work have been talking about Disney movies. If I had to pick another Disney movie that I love as much as The Lion King, then this will be the one. I was obsessed and I remember asking my mom to draw me a picture of a mermaid and then I would play with the cutout shape. This was a substitution until I got an actual Ariel doll, which I did. Oh boy, when I got it I immediately went to the park to show it off to my friends and we played for hours. I was immediately drawn to the story, it seemed so unique and interesting to me. Seeing Ariel trying to adjust to the human world was probably the most entertaining part of the movie for me.

The Little Mermaid was released in 1989 (the same year I was born), the movie earned three Academy Award nominations and it won two awards for Best Song and Best Score. The movie also won two Grammy Awards for Best Album for Children and for Best Score Soundtrack Album for a Motion Picture, Television or Other Visual Media. This movie also marked the start of the Disney Renaissance Era.

 

1. The Lion King

The Lion King was released 1994 and it reached a huge success with its captivation plot and wonderful music by Elton John and Hans Zimmer. I watched the Lion King for the first time when I was 4 years old and  I fell in love with it instantly. For weeks, all I did was watch the movie and sing the songs. Without the doubt, I always cry when I watch Mufasa falling off the cliff. I was also obsessed with collecting any merchandise related to the movie and I kept asking my mom to buy me The Lion King toys. For me personally, this is the best Disney movie of the Disney  Renaissance Era, which is the era from 1989 to 1999 and it is my favorite.

File:The Lion King poster.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post, if you are a Disney lover, go ahead and share your top 3 Disney movies in the comments box below.

See you on Sunday 🙂

 

 

 

 

