Music Monday! Week 48.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday, brace yourselves everyone because I came across a very strange music find last week and I had to share it with you. I watch a very popular YouTube channel called TheFineBros and they post videos of kids/teens/youtubers/elders reacting to various viral videos. On this week’s episode of YouTubers React, they shared three music videos from the Japanese band called Babymetal.

 

Babymetal is Japanese band that mixes metal music and J-Pop together, which is referred to as KawaiiMetal or CuteMetal. I know what all of you are thinking right now, “what on Earth?” My thoughts were the same when I first watched the video and I am not a metal music fan, so it was kind of bizarre to listen to the music. The members of the group are Suzuka Nakamoto (su-metal), Moa Kikuchi (moametal) and Yui Mizuno (yuimetal), who are all in their early teens aging 14-16 years old. Personally, I am still feeling indecisive about this band because the thought of young girls singing metal music is very unusual and I am not sure I’m a fan of it either.

Before I tell you more about the band, I want to explain how the music industry works in Japan. In Japan, there are idols who range from ages 11-20, the girls are recruited by auditioning for a specific music records company. They have to showcase their singing and dancing abilities, when they are chosen, they have to train a short period of time and  make their debut. In other cases, there are existing groups that the girls join as the next generation. Japanese idols perform in a group for certain time period and when they get to a specific age, they have to graduate from the group. Their plans after their graduation varies from going back to their normal lives or pursing a job in the entertainment industry i.e. being radio personality, television host or a model.

Let’s go back to Babymetal, I think the combination of metal and J-Pop makes me tolerate the metal part of the songs. However, I can’t decided if I like this music genre mashup, I admit that it is catchy. I like the originality and the risk that was taken when this band was created, but this kind of music will not accepted in the American music industry. First of all, metal music fans will completely reject it and the mix of the genres may not be accepted by American record companies. Despite this, I have one song I find catchy that I wanted to share, it is called “IINE (So Good)”. Let me warn you, the song begins with EDM beat, then it goes to rap, metal and back to EDM. I didn’t enjoy the rap part of the song because it seemed to be out of place, but I liked the EDM part because I love upbeat music i.e. techno/trance.

Here are the translated lyrics of the song:

Tick tack tick tack my heart beats.
I can’t stop this feeling running wild.
Tick tack tick tack my heart beats.
I can’t stop this feeling. I screamo.

[Hey, it’s my afternoon snack!]
[Wait. Wait. Wait. Don’t take it in advance of me!]
[[???]]
[[All yours are also mine.]]

I was left alone. I looked up the sky.
What a sentimental night!
I’ll go, driven by this feeling,
running away from the reality.

So good. So good.
The party under the night sky.
So good. So good.
I’ll go brilliant.
That for now, moshing up.
Taking little by little is impossible.

Yeah, yeah.
It’s too transcendental. It’s perfect.
A gal must have
a dream which is surely
super-chaotic.

Sway your head! Take off your glasses!
Swing your head! Take off your glasses!
Sway your head! Take off your glasses!
What a jammed, bursting, over-packed rucksack.
Take it off right now!

Yo! Yo! Yo! Yo!
[The microphone check. One, two. One, two.]
[Are you ready to mosh?]
Are you ready to mosh?
Put your fox sign up!
[It’s a fox sign, you know?]

[[It’s not a maloik sign but a fox sign.]]
[[Not a sign of the horns but a fox sign, you know.]]

Gyah!

I pledged to myself by linking my little fingers.
What a sentimental night!
I’ll go, driven by this feeling,
running away from the reality.

So good. So good.
The party under the night sky.
So good. So good.
I’ll go brilliant.
That for now, moshing up.
Taking little by little is impossible.

Yeah, yeah.
It’s too transcendental. It’s perfect.
A gal must have
a dream which is surely
super-chaotic.

[So good. So good.]
Yeah, yeah.
[So good. So good.]
Yeah, yeah.
[So good. So good.]
It’s super-chaotic.
Yeah, yeah.
[So good. So good.]
Yeah, yeah.
[So good. So good.]
Yeah, yeah.
[So good. So good.]
[So good. So good. So good. So good.]

Enjoy and please complete the poll below or write a comment to let me know what you think of the song!

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “Music Monday! Week 48.

    1. I like rock music too but stuff like Linkin park, Tokio hotel, within temptation and skillet. There are some Japanese rock bands that I listened to too, but nothing intense like metal

Leave a Reply

