Tags

, , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Friday Funday, as you guys know, I love writing tag posts. So today I have chosen to do the Childhood tag, I chose this particular one because I loved my childhood and I wanted to tell you about it. I have a ton of wonderful memories and I feel very lucky and fortunate to have had a memorable childhood. Enough chit-chat and let’s get started 🙂

The Childhood Tag

1. Where did you grow up?

I was born in Bulgaria, Sofia and I lived there until I was 13, then in 2002 I immigrated with my family to Canada.

2. Were you a good child?

Overall, I would have to say yes. Of course, like any child I had my moments when I didn’t listen, but I never really had temper tantrums. I listened to my mom, but behind her back I used to be very hyper and mouthy sometimes. Not towards her, but towards other people. I remember I was on my balcony and I was calling out to my friend who lived on the seventh floor and I lived on the third floor. The window of my neighbor was next to the balcony and she opened the window to tell me to stop because I was disturbing her studies. I repeated her words in a mocking way and she told me stop and I refused. So yeah…I basically did stuff like this from time to time.

3. What did you used to do in the summer?

My grandparents had a cottage about one or two hours away from the city, there was a lot of nature around my cottage. I used to go there every summer from four to eight years old, the area where we had the cottage was surrounded by trees and bumpy roads. It wasn’t the best to drive to the house because we were always afraid we would end up having a flat tire. In addition, there weren’t any grocery stores around, expect for one which was an hour away. My mom had to come on the weekends and bring us food, nevertheless I loved being there because I was around nature. I used to play with the butterflies, climb the hills and we had a lot of home grown fruits and vegetables. We had two pear trees, a chestnut tree, tomatoes, carrots, potatoes, apples, cherries, strawberries and raspberries. It was an absolute blast! The other half of my childhood from eight to thirteen years old, I would go in downtown a lot with my cousins or other family members and play in the neighborhood park with my friends. I miss those days 🙂

4. What is your saddest childhood memory?

Definitely the day my grandfather passed away, I remember the day vividly. It was a Saturday and he was leaving for the cottage with my grandma, he waved at me with a huge smile and said bye. For some reason, I had a bad feeling and then a few hours later we got a call that my grandfather collapsed. I knew that he died, but for the longest time I was in denial. Since that day, I didn’t want to go to the cottage anymore because it did not feel the same.He was the best grandfather 🙂

5. What is your happiest childhood memory?

Every happy childhood memory is linked to my days at the cottage days, one particular one that I have in mind is about a rose hip tree near the entrance of the house. It wasn’t big, but at the bottom it was tall enough to go under the tree. I started bringing my toys and comic books there. Then my grandfather decided to clean up under the tree and made me a table with cardboard boxes and helped me make it nice and cozy. I brought my toys, a blanket and snacks, I invited my friend a few houses down from mine to hangout with me. It was super fun and I’ll never forget it.

6. Is there something you kept as a secret?

There was something I kept a secret from my grandma, let me tell you the story. I lived on the third floor and my friend lived on the second floor, we would take out our barbies and play on our balconies. She was on her balcony and I was on mine, you might ask me “Why didn’t you play at each others’ houses?”, good question, for us it was more fun playing like that. Of course, we got together and played, but we also liked like in this way. Anyway, right under her balcony was the roof of the entrance of the building, she could easily walk out on it, but my grandma told me then, if I drop something not to go get it. The klutz that I am, I dropped one of my barbies bag. My friend’s older sister said she will get it and told me to come downstairs, so I snuck out for 10 minutes. When I came back my grandma never knew I was out of the apartment, I never told her this. I told my mom years later, I make it sound like I was a bad child but I was really good and I never talked back to my family.

7. What did you want to become as a child (job-wise)?

There were so many, but some were a mathematician (I’m terrible at math), an artist (I can’t draw at all), banker, a dentist (I get grossed out easily) and an entrepreneur. My passion for music got realized when I was nine years old, before that it was acting.

8. Do you still have contact with your childhood friends?

Yes, some of them via facebook. One of my friends that I keep in touch, I’ve known him since I was four.

9. Were there any strange things you believed in when you were child?

UFOs, haha I was fascinated by them and I used to think that women got pregnant by standing side to side with a man. Let’s just say, I was avoiding getting near a boy until I was four or five years old.

10. Show us a picture of you as a child.

My mom used to love making my hair like Pebbles from The Flintstones, here I was four years old.

20140418-215405.jpg

11. Favorite toy?

My favorite toy is a pink stuffed fox, I used to take it with me everywhere and as a matter of fact, I still have it in my possession.

12. Favorite book?

I never liked to read books when I was little, I only liked my Mickey Mouse comic books that my cousin gave. I was obsessed with Mickey Mouse, I watched a lot of Mickey Mouse movies too.

13. Favorite TV show

I have a lot, but my top three were Friends (I started watching it when I was six), Tom and Jerry and Sailor Moon.

14. Favorite subject at school?

I loved crafts class and music class. I also liked gym class, but I was very clumsy and I always fell and my injured myself.

15. Place for the holidays?

The holidays were always celebrated at home with a lot of family that came over, it was fun and festive. I always felt very cozy at home.

I hope you enjoyed with tag post, I tag everyone of you to do this tag as well 🙂 I found the tag on this website (http://beckythewallflower.blogspot.ca/2013/03/the-childhood-tag.html)

See you soon!

 

