Music Monday! Week 50.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday, today I’ll be sharing with you a brand new band I discovered. I always get excited when I discover a new band because I’m embarking on a new musical journey, so to speak. I start to listen to the artist and think “Wow this catchy, I need to listen more”, then I watch live performances to see the artist’s singing ability during a live performance and finally when I’m obsessed, I try to find tickets to see the band or artist live. Basically this is how I felt about this new band and to stop the suspense, I am talking about, Chvrches. I was initially drawn to the unique mix of an 80s sound and a bit of modern techno beat. I love unique bands and music, so this is definitely up my alley. While I was listening to their songs, I started to think of Daft Punk and Pink Floyd. This band gave me that particular vibe and I feel like they could be the modern day version of these classic bands.

Here is a little background information about this band, Chvrches are a Scottish electronic music band. The band consists of three members, Lauren Mayberry (lead vocalist), Iain Cook (synthesizer, guitar, bass, vocals) and Martin Doherty (sampler, synthesizer). The synthesizer part might be a new music term for some of you, it is basically an electronic music instrument that produces various sounds. This instrument is widely used in synthpop, which is a electro pop genre. This music genre became more popular in Japan and the United Kingdom. Chvrches released their studio album “The Bones Of What You Believe” on September 20, 2013.

The song I’ll share today is called is “Recover”.

Enjoy and let me know what you guys think of this new band.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

