Friday Funday! Top 5 Japanese Dramas.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Friday Funday! I am continuing my top five series and today I’ll be sharing with you my top 5 favorite Japanese dramas. J-dramas are a unique mix of  comedy, to romance, to tragedy and science fiction. I started watching J-dramas two years ago out of pure boredom, I was trying to find a Korean movie on Youtube and one of the suggestions on the side were a few J-dramas. The first one I watched is “Koizura”, this is a tragic/romantic love story that made me cry as much as Titanic did. Since watching this drama, I needed to watch more and of course I relied on Google to find moreJapanese TV shows. Since then I’ve been loving the wonderful world of j-dramas, these shows may not to be to everyone’s liking because some of them can be quite strange. Hey, I have to be honest, but these kinds of shows are hilarious and it is refreshing to watch something different. Of course, there are serious and suspenseful j-dramas as well and the list  is endless. I should seriously move to Japan and live there, I think that would be a blast.

I am going to share with you some clips, trailer or opening theme videos from the show. Enough chit-chat now, let’s get started with the top 5 countdown ! Enjoy.

1. Hana Yori Dango.

 

Oh my goodness,this is my all time favorite j-drama and I cannot express it with words how much I actually love it. Hana Yori Dango was the first romantic drama that was recommended on Google, the show is based of the Japanese manga “Hana Yori Dango” meaning ‘Boys Over Flowers”. It follows the story of Makino Tsukushi who is the only “commoner” attending Eitoku Gakuen. The school is attended by the rich and privileged, that’s also ruled by a four member group called Flower 4 or F4. The leader Domyoji Tsukasa and heir of Domyoji World Finance Group, Hanazawa Rui, the quiet son of a large company, Nishikado Sojiro a flirtatious playboy who is the heir of a tea ceremony school and Mimasaka Akira, the madam killer preferring to date older women and his family is very powerful  to the Japanese underground.  If anyone tries to cross their paths, the F4 will put a red notice in the student’s locker and publicly humiliate them in front of everyone in the school.

Makino hopes to get through her school years without attracting anyone’s attention, however while standing up for her friend against the leader, Domyoji Tsukasa, the next day she receives a red notice. Even though Makino is bullied by the F4, she decides she is a “tough weed” and declares war right back on the F4. A love triangle is slowly formed between Hanazawa Rui (who defends her) and her worst enemy, Domyoji Tsukasa.

The shows has two seasons (season 1- 9 episodes), (season 2 – 11 episodes) and a movie. Generally, the number of episodes for Japanese dramas is shorter than American TV shows. I managed to watch everything within two weeks, I couldn’t pull away from the computer screen because it was addictive to watch. If you are planning to start watching J-dramas, then definitely start with this one. I will be sharing with you the movie trailer, enjoy!

2. Hanazakari no Kimitachi (Hana Kimi)

Probably one of the most hilarious J-dramas I have watched, I was laughing so much because the show can be very silly.

This drama is based on the Japanese manga and I like to call this show the Japanese version of “She’s The Man” with Amanda Bynes. It follows the story of Ashiya Mizuki who disguises herself as a boy and moves to a boy’s boarding school. She falls in love with Sano Izumi who is skilled at high jump, but had quit because of an accident. Mizuki moves to the school with the hopes of encouraging him to continue playing high jump.

It is a wonderful story of complete strangers coming together, making long lasting friendships and a girl hoping the boy she loves goes back to do what loves.

3. Akumu-Chan

Akumu-chan is a science fiction/ comedy J-drama, following the story of Mutoi Ayami and Koto Yuiko. Mutoi Ayami is known to be a dedicated and hardworking teacher, however, no one knows that her public character is a facade. Ayami does not feel genuinely for others and she doesn’t believe in love or trust. She doesn’t like to be involved in situations that seem troublesome or require her to take responsibility. All of this changes when she meets her new student, Koto Yuiko, a young girl who can predict the future through the dreams she sees in her sleep.

This drama was very entertaining and I enjoyed watching Koto Yuiko and Ayami’s adventures. This is a family drama, with amazing visuals and it didn’t hurt to have the actor/singer Gackt, he is amazing in this drama. You will not be disappointed.

4. Atashinchi no Danshi

Do you guys see a trend here? All of the J-dramas I watch are comedy or romance, well I do watch serious ones, occasionally.

Atashinchi no Danshi follows the story of a homeless 20 year old girl, Chisato, her mother passed away due to illness and since then she desperately tries to escape the huge debt her father left her. One day when she least expects it she meets Okura Shinzo, the owner of a huge toy company and he rescues her by paying off her debt. In return, Shinzo asks Chisato to marry him for paying off her debt. He offers her a condition to stay married to him for a month to take care of him while he is ill, that way she doesn’t have to pay back her father’s debt. However, in a month he passes away and Chisato finds out that there are more conditions to follow, that include her moving into his mansion and trying to bring back together his six sons.

I know what you are thinking, “What is this? It’s ridiculous”, I had the same feelings when I started watching the show, but afterwards I got used to it and I really enjoyed it. The trailer I’m sharing has no subtitles, sorry everyone, this was all I could find.

 

5. Proposal Daisakusen (Operation Love)

Here we go again, another romantic J-drama to introduce in my top 5 list!

Proposal Daisakusen follows the story of Ken Iwase who attends Rei Yoshida (his childhood friend) wedding. Ken is not the best at expressing his feeling and realizes a bit too late that he is in love with her. Ken wishes that things could’ve been done differently and at that moment a fairy appears who grants his wish. Ken goes back in time to try and make things different.

I love this show because the moral of the story is very good and it teaches you that you need to take action, so you won’t have regrets later on life.

If you do watch J-dramas, please let me know what is your favorite and one that you are currently watching.

Thanks for stopping by to read my blog 🙂

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

