Tags

, , , ,

Hello everyone,

Summer is finally here and that means it is time for…….. MUSIC FESTIVALSSS!!! Can you tell I’m really excited? I always make sure to go to a concert at least once per year or more than that if I can. Concerts are basically one big party, fans coming together to see their favorite musician, the loud pounding music and making memories that will last a lifetime. What is there not to love about concerts? My answer to that is, nothing!

I was doing some research to find out what are some of the most popular music festivals in my city and then it got me thinking about the profound change of the concert experience. So today I will be discussing with you all these changes and if you feel like I left out any important points, please feel free to contribute to the discussion in the comments box below.

In 2009 I went to my very first concert and it was to none other than the Queen of Pop, Britney Spears. I finally got the chance to see the musician that I have idolized for years, so you can probably imagine how psyched I was to have one my childhood dreams come true. I brought my camera at the time to take a lot of pictures to look back to when I’m older, the zoom in quality of my camera was not amazing, but it did the job.

Britney Spears, Circus Tour 2009!

The opening act were The Pussycat Dolls and after a few songs, Britney came on the stage. I pretty much had the camera in my hand the entire time, taking pictures and videos. After the show was over, I was happy to have seen Britney Spears, but for some reason I didn’t feel like I truly enjoyed the show. At the time I didn’t realize it, but as I went to more concerts, I realized I didn’t enjoy the show was because I was watching it through my camera lens. There is a saying, “Live in the moment”, we have to appreciate the here and now, so put our cameras away and stop taking pictures of everything around us. We’ll see it again, do we really need to take pictures 50,000 pictures of a sunset (well not 50,00, but you get my point), I think we forgot how to take time to enjoy our surroundings.

Taking pictures daily has become part of our lifestyle!

Back in the 80s and 90s people would bring their lighters to wave them back and forth and sing along with their musicians! Now, concerts have turned into photography/video session with videos being published on YouTube and photos on various social media websites. So I challenge you all to take only five pictures at your next concert and one video, not 50 pictures and videos.

I make It sound like I’m hating technology, but that’s not true at all! I love technology and how much it has made our lives easier, I just want people to enjoy their surroundings more and try technology detox. What I mean by this is to give u your technological devices for one day, I know that may be hard but give it a shot. Despite the fact that technology has influenced today’s concert experience, it also has its positive aspects. Concerts have become a visual entertainment with its amazing stage effects and stunts. Concerts offer things like flames (my favorite), lasers, confetti, pyrotechnics and cryogenics. These are visually appealing to the eye and quite exciting as well, it adds that extra ‘oomph’ to the show.

Pyrotechnics!

Cryogenics!

Concerts have become colorful, dazzling and an exciting experience for music fans! All I have to do now is put my camera away and enjoy the show 🙂

Let me know in the comments box below if you are going to any festivals or concerts this summer!

Thanks for reading and see you soon!

 

