Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday! Arianna Grande has been dominating the music charts recently and I’m not surprised, she is extremely talented. I like to call the Mariah Carey of this generation, that’s why today I’ll be sharing her song “Problem” featuring Iggy Azelea.

Modern day music is very different from music in the 90s or 80s, originality is rare and most artists try to get the attention of fans by using crazy music video ideas and costumes. It is forgotten that simplicity is all that’s needed and letting the talent of the singer attract fans to buy a single is how you sell music. Well now for the first time in a long time and to use a metaphor, Arianna’s song “Problem” is like a breath of fresh air in the music industry. This song is insanely catchy and it incorporates a mix of pop and R&B. Whenever I hear some recent pop songs that have included a rap part, I always find myself saying “That’s not necessary to make the song better.” For “Problem”, Iggy Azelea’s verse adds that extra oomph and the background vocals of Big Sean adds a sense of mysteriousness. Let’s not forget Arianna Grande’s powerful vocals, this single has brought together different musicians with different vocal strengths and it delivered to music fans a masterpiece. Some may say that maybe masterpiece is a strong word to use to describe this song, but to me this is what it is. I love the saxophone loop because it adds a classy vibe to this song. “Problem” reminded me of the good old 90s music with a mix of modern day beat and rhythm.

The music video is simple, but has a bearable amount of visual effects that allows the listener to focus on the music rather than the video. Don’t get me wrong, the production of music videos and their originality is important, but overdoing it is not. The video and some of the outfits gave me a 70s vibe with a modern twist. Ladies and gentlemen, I think I have my 2014 summer song picked out!

Enjoy and have a happy week!

See you soon!

 

 

