PSY ft. Snoop Dog – Hangover Review!

 

Oh my, PSY what happened? Let me first begin by saying that I am not trying to be hater, but I currently dislike this song. Who knows, maybe later on I’ll think it’s catchy because that’s what usually happens with PSY’s songs, but for now I don’t. I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised by PSY’s comeback, but instead I was very disappointed. My reactions throughout the entire music video was basically this:

I thought this picture from the Hangover 2  and hey it has the same name as the song, that was not intentional.

Anyway let’s back to PSY’s music video, I like PSY’s music but for this song and music video, I think he was trying to be funny? He is funny, but I’m pretty sure he is capable of more as a musician. My expectations after his last single,  “Gentlemen” was to make a comeback with a ballad. Yes a ballad, because I think he can do it but instead he wanted to create another “Gangnam Style” and “Gentlemen” type of music video. It was catchy and great at the time, but I think we had enough and I personally want to see what else he has to offer as a musician. PSY wants to be entertaining and understand that, but I (maybe some of you too) want to see him perform something different.

As for the song, I think it should be called “Hangover” by Snoop Dog, I don’t understand why PSY’s  name was featured when he didn’t sing at all. Yes he is in the music video, but I wanted to hear him sing. The music video features their crazy antics from wild karaoke, swimming naked in water fountains to skipping around carnivals. It funny, but I wouldn’t say it is a masterpiece.

What does everyone else think? Let me know in the comments box below.

 

See you soon!

2 thoughts on “PSY ft. Snoop Dog – Hangover Review!

  1. I regard PSY as a comedian who makes club songs with funny videos and he does it rather well. The song is alright, Snoop is better than he usually is and the video is amusing.

    What happened to the rest of the Korean musical wave which was supposed to hit the west? Girls Generation still aren’t big.

    1. I agree with you on that one, he does a great job acting funny. I was curious to see his serious side too.

      There are a few well known K-pop groups like the Wonder Girls, Big Bang but their Western success wasn’t long. lasting. Boa made her US debut in 2009 and not many people were interested. That was disappointing because she is an amazing musician. I guess the west doesn’t accept foreign music easily and that’s a pity.

Leave a Reply

