Friday Funday! J-pop Tag.

Helloe veryone,

Welcome back to Friday Funday, in honor of my J-pop week that’s coming up next week, I’ve decided to put together a J-pop tag questionnaire.

I was browsing online trying to find an existing one, but I didn’t have much luck. So I decided to make up my own questions and share this tag with anyone who loves J-pop (please give credit if you are going to use the questions).

Anyway, let’s get started and I hope you enjoy this post 🙂

1. How did you become interested in J-pop?

That’s a good questions indeed, I became interested in J-pop through anime, anime fans know that anime shows have catchy opening themes. When I heard some of these opening themes I was hooked and I needed to listen to more. It’s been 8 years since I stopped watching anime, but I continue listening to J-pop because it is awesome.

2. What was the song that made you want to listen to more J-pop songs?

It was “Every Heart” by BoA and I’ve talked about her on my blog before, she is like the Korean version of Janet Jackson and Britney Spears. BoA is Korean, but she has released countless of Japanese songs, which are heaven to my ears. Her song “Every Heart” has a gentle melody and I felt at peace when I listened to the song.

3. Who is your favorite Japanese singer/group?

Ahhh, I can’t choose there are sooooo many, so I’ll share a few of them:

Ayumi Hamasaki, Girl Next Door (an awesome J-pop trio), Namie Amuro, T.M. Revolution, FLOW, AAA (Attack All Around), Do As Infinity, ARASHI, Hitomi Shimatani and the list can go on and on and on! Below, I’ll add a picture of the artists I mentioned!

Ayumi Hamasaki.
Girl Next Door.
Namie Amuro.
T.M. Revolution.
Do As Infinity.
ARASHI.
Hitomi Shimatani.
FLOW.
AAA (Attack All Around).

4. If you could see one of your favorite J-pop singers live, who would it be and why?

Hmm, I think it would have to be Ayumi Hamasaki because she is a musical legend in Japan and it would be cool to see her live. I also want to see FLOW because their music is catchy and I think their concerts would a be fun. Lastly, I want to see Kyary Pamyu Pamyu because her concerts seem very entertaining with the fun costumes and dances. She came to perform to Toronto, but I couldn’t go 😦

5. In your opinion, which J-pop artist is underrated and deserves more attention?

I had to think about this one for a while, but it would have to be Nami Tamaki. I think she is very talented, she sings great and not mention that she is a great dancer. However, I feel like her work is not recognized enough because she is constantly compared to BoA. You know what that means, people think she is a BoA wannabe. I don’t agree with that and think that she deserves more credit for her work.

6. Do any of your friends or family listen to J-pop with you?

Unfortunately, none of my friends like J-pop because to quote them “I can’t understand what they are singing about.” I understand everyone has their preferences, but in my opinion, music is music no matter in what language it is sang. Going back to the question, my mom is the only one who would listen to some J-pop with me, cool mom isn’t she? 🙂 She finds the beat of the songs catchy, one day we sat for half an hour watching J-pop music videos, haha.

7. Do you see yourself listening to J-pop 5 years from now?

Absolutely, I don’t see myself ever stopping, but time will tell. I still find it catchy and fun to listen to, so I will continue rocking out to my favorite J-pop tunes.

I hope you enjoyed this post and made you even more excited for J-pop week, that’s coming up next week. I am currently working on the posts, so please stay tuned!

See you soon and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

