The World of J-pop: J-pop Week (#8-7)

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to day three of J-pop week, today I have two J-pop music videos to share with you. That’s right, you get double the doze of J-pop awesomeness!

The music video I chose as number 8 is “Again” by Yui. Yui is an actress and song-writer who is quite skilled at playing guitar, bass guitar, drums and piano. She made a breakthrough in the music industry with her song “Goodbye Days”, since releasing her debut album she continued becoming more popular and become well known in other countries. Her song “Again” is the opening theme for the popular anime series, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. Her song gained instant success by debuting number one on the Oricon charts and on the Japan Billboard Hot 100. The song also had the highest opening week sales in for a female musician in 2009. This is a melodious song with clear and edgy vocals, the instrumental accompaniments are driving. The instrumental guitar at the beginning eases in the listener  into the song and suddenly it becomes powerful as it reaches the chorus.

Now let’s move on to the second music video, the one that debuted at number 7 is “Ready, Steady, Go” by L’arc-en -ciel. L’arc-en-ciel is a Japanese rock band (yes I do realize that this is J-pop week, but I’m sharing any music genres) that was founded in 1991 in Osaka. They have sold millions of albums, singles and merchandise, they have also performed in the U.S. Their image and music is funky, upbeat (I love upbeat music) and edgy! This is how I’ll describe their song “Ready, Steady, Go”, it is rhythmic and tuneful. My favorite part of the song is definitely the chorus, it sounds fun and happy. “Ready, Steady, Go” has debuted on the number one spot of the Oricon music charts and it is well deserved. This song is also the opening theme for the Fullmetal Alchemist series.

Enjoy and I hope you like both songs!

Yui – Again 

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

I will pursue this dream, ’cause I know it’s expected that I be serene
Upon this winding road, in the face of the crowds that bustle all around
Although it seems like I am chasing after the past,
What I want is a place where the sky is alive and like home to me
Please try to understand the truth
That this is no choice
And I wish you’d stop with that look of despair
You’re giving me

Tears are nothing but the shape of our weakness
And they won’t bring any absolution
I do not see an end to this labyrinth
Who am I waiting for~
And I write it down in the pages of my notebook
‘Cause I’m looking for the me that is still honest
I am running but I don’t even know why
From this reality

To chase my wishes I’ll carry on living
And I will always remember the depths of the darkness
I’ll face my demons and I’ll no longer run away
There isn’t a place to go
I’ll lose this feeling of being so helpless
‘Cause my whole life is ahead of me
I’ll quash the numbness
‘Cause pain’s better than the emptiness

I must apologize, I’ve really messed up and
I am so ashamed
I may not say it much,
But I know that I make you worry all the time

Back then you always could accept the things I’d done
And you’re still the same today so I’ll try not to burden you
But try to realize that I have closed my eyes
Just because the world is too harsh
And I’m willing to blind myself

Rumors that they have spread about us
I do not know which was the first one
“We were friends from the second that we met,”
Just stop with the lies already
And my heart turned red with this passion
And it almost consumed my very being
‘Cause in truth I’d held onto hope
From this reality

To chase my wishes I’ll carry on living
And I really want to scream out, but can you even hear me?
I’ll face my demons, and I’ll no longer run away
There isn’t a place to go
I still am grateful for the care you’ve shown me
So I’ll find the strength to make it count
I’ll always move onward
Facing my friends and foes alike

How do you unlock this door that has no key?
Can you think of a way?

We can’t go back to the beginning
The story is set, and our destinies too

Open up your eyes
Open up your eyes

I’ll lose this feeling of being so helpless
‘Cause my whole life is ahead of me
And the things I once abandoned
I want to try and find again

Come on, just one more time

To chase my wishes I’ll carry on living
And I really want to scream out, but can you even hear me?
I’ll face my demons, and I’ll no longer run away
There isn’t a place to go
I still am grateful for the care you’ve shown me
So I’ll find the strength to make it count
I’ll quash the numbness
‘Cause pain’s better than the emptiness

L’arc-en-ciel – Ready, Steady, Go

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

READY STEADY CAN’T HOLD ME BACK
READY STEADY GIVE ME GOOD LUCK
READY STEADY NEVER LOOK BACK
LET’S GET STARTED READY STEADY GO

The scenery blowing by like it’s rolling forward.
even if things start looking desperate,
I won’t lose sight of the target.

if I can’t depend on this map, may as well burn it up
I’ll seize the buried truth in these palms.

I’ve run through quickly with singular determination
my racing heart beats so loudly it could rip me apart.

sounding out -your voice- calling to me.
there’s no time to be standing around
READY STEADY GO

even if I bear countless wounds
I’ll never let you get my soul.

if I meet you on the otherside of that hill,
Where to begin… I can think of nothing else.

I’ve run through quickly with singular determination
my racing heart beats so loud it could rip me apart.

sounding out -your voice- calling to me.
there’s no time to be standing around
READY STEADY GO

(READY!)

READY STEADY CAN’T HOLD ME BACK
READY STEADY GIVE ME GOOD LUCK
READY STEADY NEVER LOOK BACK
LET’S GET STARTED READY STEADY GO

my heart -races-, under that sky
I can’t stop the feelings going nowhere from screaming out.

let them reach you -just a little further-
a ray of sunlight shines warmly on the other side of this road.
READY STEADY GO

PLEASE, TRUST ME

See you tomorrow and thanks for stopping by my blog!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The World of J-pop: J-pop Week (#8-7)

Leave a Reply

