Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to J-pop week, how are you guys liking it so far? Let me know in the comments box below, I’m very curious to know. Anyways, today I have another two music videos to share with you all, so let’s begin right away.

The music video I chose as number 6 is “Pon Pon Pon” by Kyary Pamyu Pamyu. Some of you may have heard of her, while some may not have a clue who she is. Many fans call her “The Lady Gaga of Japan”, I think that’s an accurate way to describe her. Although, I would add that she is the cutesy version of Lady Gaga. She is known for her unique and a bit strange music videos and for her Harajuku inspired style. Her music videos went viral and she slowly gained popularity in Western countries, Katy Perry and Arianna Grande have talked about her as well. It was recently announced that Kyary will be releasing an English single, I’m very interested to hear the final product. In additon, before starting her music career, Kyary used to be a fashion blogger and a model for Harajuku magazines. Now as for her song “Pon Pon Pon”, this is the single that  gave Kyary a worldwide recognition. The single was released in 2011, it debuted number nine on the Japan Hot 100 Billboard music chart. When I am thinking of a word to describe the music video, it is eccentric. Crazy fashion, lots of colors, stuffed toys and lots of crazy effects. There is so much happening and yet you cannot look away, what have you done Kyary? The song is quite catchy and I love the dance too, there are many dance covers done by Japanese Nico Nico dancers. Good luck getting this song out of your heads!

Now let’s move on to our next song, the music video I chose as number 5 is “Jewel” by Ayumi Hamasaki. She is also know as the “Empress of J-pop”, Ayumi began her career in 1993 and she became very popular in Japan and throughout Asia. Fans refer to her as Ayu, she moved to Tokyo when she was fourteen to pursue a career in the entertainment industry. In 1998, she got signed to Avex a Japanese record label! Her debut album “A Song for xx” debuted as number one on the Oricon charts and that was the start of her amazing career.“Jewel” is a beautiful ballad from Ayumi’s award wining album, “Secret”. Ayumi’s soft vocals puts your mind at ease, this song is almost like a sleep lullaby for me. The music video is absolutely stunning, the jewels, diamonds and winter inspired set is gorgeous. This is also one of Ayu’s most expensive music videos, costing over $1,000,000.

Enjoy and let me know if you enjoyed the songs 🙂

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu – Pon Pon Pon

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

What if everyone around
Decided to go skipping all across the town?
And what if they collided in the city streets
And everyone held hands and looked up into the sky, now?
If everyone would look around from where they stand
And open up and learn to give and take a chance
Then that will be the hope to chase away my cries
So don’t worry and move forward with your head held high, -igh -igh

PON PON let it out
C’mon, let the crazy show
Because if you don’t
Life would be so dull, you know
Headphones on my ears
Rhythm’s got me jammin’ here
WAY WAY open road
Gotta make it on my own

PON PON can’t you see
Boundless possibilities?
DON DON hear that beat?
Sounds like it’s your heart to me
POI POI make a change
Throw bad history away
Slow and steadily
Ah-ah, you make me happy

Every day PON
Every time is PON
Jump on a carousel and don’t let go
Every day PON
Every time is PON
We cannot stay like this, but even so

PON PON let it out
C’mon, let the crazy show
Because if you don’t
Life would be so dull, you know
Headphones on my ears
Rhythm’s got me jammin’ here
WAY WAY open road
Gotta make it on my own

What if everyone around
Decided to go skipping all across the town?
And what if they collided in the city streets
And everyone held hands and looked up into the sky, now?
If everyone would look around from where they stand
And open up and learn to give and take a chance
Then that will be the hope to chase away my cries
So don’t worry and move forward with your head held high, -igh -igh

PON PON can’t you see
Boundless possibilities?
DON DON hear that beat?
Sounds like it’s your heart to me
POI POI make a change
Throw bad history away
Slow and steadily
Ah-ah, you make me happy

Every day PON
Every time is PON
Jump on a carousel and don’t let go
Every day PON
Every time is PON
We cannot stay like this, but even so

Ayumi Hamasaki – Jewel

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

Under the grey and square sky
Is filled with all kinds of desires today
But I don’t lose sight of the light among them
And can walk, looking forward
Because you always show me
That there remains a purity even in a corner of this city

Breathing calmly, I looked at you
Who had fallen asleep, so exhausted
The sweet, unprotected profile
That no one in the world but me knows

One day when the sunlight poured and the wind blew gently
As if it were nothing special
I felt alone that something was changing in me
Slowly, firmly and surely

Though I wasn’t sad at all, tears fell down
Because your feelings sank painfully into
The scar in the depth of my heart
And changed it into tenderness

If you come across deep sorrow
I wish you will share it with me
I’ll be able to do anything for the smile
My precious treasure
My precious treasure

See you tomorrow and thanks for stopping by my blog!

 

