Tags

, , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to J-pop week, there is one day left of J-pop week and I’ve been really enjoying writing these posts. So without any further ado, I present to you today’s music video.

The music video that I chose as number 2 is “Can You Celebrate” by Namie Amuro. I can’t wait to discuss the song, but first let me introduce Namie. Namie Amuro is a Japanese R&B singer who is referred to as the “Japanese Queen of Pop”. In 1992, Namie debuted as an idol at the age of 14 in the group “Super Monkeys”. During their final year together (1995), the group gained popularity, but shortly after that the group disbanded. When this happened Namie left Toshiba-EMI Records and got signed under Avex Trax. Namie became an instant success with her hit song “Can You Celebrate”, that was released on February 19, 1997. This single is considered to be one of best selling songs by a solo artist, with sales of  2,296,200 copies and debuting number one on the Oricon Charts.

“Can You Celebrate” is also the opening theme of the Japanese drama, Virgin Road. This year Namie has been making a few remakes of her older songs, including this one. The remake of this song is simply magical, so much passion and raw emotion is conveyed through Namie’s vocals. This version has more of an classical music influence, than her 1997 version. I can’t complain with this because it is absolutely beautiful, it has literally brought tears to my eyes. The instrumental accompaniment of the violin in this song is heartfelt and clear. In addition, I am used to seeing Namie’s edgy imagine, but seeing her transform in this video was quite a surprise. She looks stunning, I love simplicity of the music video and Namie deserves a standing ovation.

Enjoy and let me know if you enjoyed the song 🙂

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

Can you celebrate? Can you kiss me tonight?
We will love long long time

I didn’t know the meaning of the word “forever,” did I?

(Can you celebrate? Can you kiss me tonight?)
(We will love long long time)
It’s just the two of us, isn’t it? After tonight we’ll be a bit embarrassed.

Lalala… Lalala…
Lalala… Lalala…

I went looking for forever… forever… for someone who would watch over me but I lost them so I’m searching again.

Although it was distant and scary there were also nights where we smiled and at times it was wonderful. It can’t be helped. Blown by the wind I’m now living. Despite this it’s still not bad, is it?

Lalala… Lalala…
Lalala… Lalala…

If I look back at my bittersweet and immature affections
they were quite cute.

Someone told me
I was running against something on a path full of mistakes.

(Can you celebrate? Can you kiss me tonight?)
(We will love long long time)
wo… I can’t escape from my memories even for a bit.
Standing still, tears flow for no reason and I begin to smile.

(Can you hold me tight? Let’s a party time tonight)
(Say good bye my lonely heart)
I didn’t know the meaning of the word “forever,” did I?
(Say hello forever)

Can you celebrate? Can you kiss me tonight?
We will love (long long time)
It’s just the two of us, isn’t it? After tonight I’m in your hands.

Can you celebrate? Can you kiss me tonight?

I can celebrate…

See you tomorrow for the final J-pop week post, thanks for stopping by my blog.

 

