The World of J-pop: J-pop Week (#1)

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to J-pop week, today is the last day and I’ve really enjoyed posting these J-pop songs all week. If you are sad that J-pop week over, don’t be, we still have my “International Wonderland” segment! This is a segment where I post international music videos and there will be more J-pop songs to be shared on my blog. Now it is time to reveal the number one J-pop music video of the week!

The music video that I chose as number 1 is “First Love” by Utada Hikaru. Utada Hikaru is a Japanese American singer who was born in Manhattan, both of her parents are in the music industry. Eventually, Utada started recording songs with her mother and in 1996 she moved to Japan to become a singer. She is quickly became very popular in the Japanese music industry, as well as the international market with her debut album “First Love”. As a Japanese soloist, Utada has had remarkable accomplishments i.e. having twelve number one singles on the Oricon charts and selling more than 52 million records worldwide. Not only that, but she also has three of her albums on the list of the Top Ten Selling Albums in Japan and according to Japan Timesshe is the most influential Japanese musician of the decade.

In the West, Utada Hikaru gained popularity for her work for the video game franchise, Kingdom of Hearts. A few of her most well-known English songs are “Sanctuary”, “Flavor of Life” and “Prisoner of Love”. “First Love” was released on April 28, 1999, which debuted as number two on the Oricon charts. This song is simply beautiful, romantic and touching, Utada’s vocals are expressive and heartfelt. The pace of the song fits the intensity and emotions of the song very well, the harmony and melody is pleasing to the ear.

Enjoy the song and let me know if you liked it.

ENGLISH LYRICS TRANSLATION

Once in a while
You are in my mind
I think about the days that we had
And i dream that these would all come back to me
If only you knew every moment in time
Nothing goes on in my heart
Just like your memories
How I want here to be with you
Once more

You will always gonna be the one
And you should know
How I wish I could have never let you go
Come into my life again
Oh, don’t say no
You will always gonna be the one in my life
So true, I believe i can never find
Somebody like you
my first love

Once in awhile
Your are in my dreams
I can feel the warmth of your embrace
And I pray that it will all come back to me
If only you knew every moment in time
Nothing goes on in my heart
Just like your memories
And how I want here to be with you
Once more
yah yah yah

You will always be inside my heart
And you should know
How I wish I could have never let you go
Come into my life again
Please don’t say no
Now and forever you are still the one
In my heart
So true, I believe I could never find
Somebody like you
My first love
oh oh

You will always gonna be the one
And you should know
How I wish I could have never let you go
Come into my life again
Oh, don’t say no
You will always gonna be the one
So true, I believe I could never find
Now and forever

Ladies and gentlemen, this concludes J-pop week and thank you so much for stopping by all week to watch and listen to the music videos. I also hope that you guys now know that there is another side of J-pop, besides its cutesy image. Let me know in the comments box below if you will consider listening to more J-pop!

Music Monday will be back on Monday, have a lovely Sunday and see you tomorrow!

 

4 thoughts on “The World of J-pop: J-pop Week (#1)

    1. Hers songs from Kingdom of Hearts are pretty good. Another one I like by her is “Sakura Drops” very nice song.

      Btw, thank you for stopping by every day to write a comment. I appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

