International Wonderland! KARA – Mamma Mia.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to International Wonderland and today I am taking you to the world of K-pop! I will be sharing  KARA’s anticipated brand new single, “Mamma Mia”!

KARA is the first K-pop band that introduced me to K-pop and I instantly fell in love with their music. The first song I heard by them is “Lupin”, I thought the song was cool,and catchy, so I decided to check out their other songs. KARA was formed by DSP Media in 2007 and the group was composed of Park Gyuri, Han Seungyeon, Goo Hara, Nicole Jung and Kang Ji-young. The group made their debut in 2007 with their single “Break It” which had a strong R&B image, however, there wasn’t positive feedback from the public. After one of the original members, Kim Sunghee left the group, that’s when Goo Hara and Kang Ji-young were brought in the group. After the addition of the new members, KARA changed their image to the “pretty but natural”. After that, they had countless of hit and the led to becoming more well known in Japan and the States. Unfortunately, on January 13, 2014 Nicole Jung announced that she will be leaving the group to focus on her solo career. Following her announcement, on January 15th Kang Ji-young announced she will also be leaving the group to pursue her studies in London. In May 2014, DSP Media launched a reality TV show called KARA Project, where seven trainees competed to be the new member of KARA. In the end, Heo Youngji won the competition and she is currently the new KARA member.

I have admit that I thought KARA will not be successful after the members departure, but their new music video proved me wrong. I thought the song was great and everyone has strong vocal abilities. I do have to admit that Heo Youngji seems a little bit out of place in the group, but I’m hoping the members will eventually get used to her and accept her. I think her voice is really good and she has that KARA appeal, KARA is going strong and I’m happy for their success.

Now enjoy the song and if you are a KARA fan, what is the first KARA song you ever listened to?

See you soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

