Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

In honor of the VMAs, I decided to put together a post with my Top 10 Favorite VMAs Performances. I’ve been watching the VMAs since I was nine years old and I used to prepare snacks with my mom and call it “VMAs Weekend”. I still do that! ūüôā

Let’s get started and have fun taking a trip down memory lane!

10. Chris Brown ft Rihanna (2007).

I have to admit that Chris Brown was flawless in this performance, from his dancing skills to his singing abilities. Some people claim that he is lip syncing during this performance and it sounds like he is, but I’m not 100% sure. If¬†someone can offer their opinion and let me know if that is for sure, that will be great.

These were¬†the good old days when Chris Brown and Rihanna were the talked about couple by the tabloids, I like Rihanna performance, but Chris Brown seemed just fine without her appearance on the stage. I love this performance because of Chris Brown’s awesome dancing skills and his¬†catchy songs. This was¬†Chris Brown’s first VMA performance and he did a great job.

9. Eminem – The Real Slim Shady/The Way I Am (2000).

How can I not include this performance on this list? This is a classic!

8. Beyonce – Single Ladies.

This is a more recent VMA performance and it definitely made me get up and dance along when I watched it for the first time . Beyonce showed everyone she is an unstoppable performer, by far my favorite performance of 2009 VMAs show.

7. Backstreet Boys – I Want It That Way/Larger Than Life (1999).

I have to show some love for my BSB boys, they were¬†a big part of my childhood and I remember the day so well when this performance was showed on TV. This is what I miss about present day music, BSB have the dancing and singing abilities. They don’t need to lip sync and they don’t need auto-tune. In this performance they sing my two all time favorite BSB songs, it feels nostalgic to look back on these old school VMA performances.

6. Jay Z ft. Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind (2009).

The piano instrumental at the beginning of this performance is what won me over and this performance had to be added to my “Top 10” list. ¬†Alicia Keys and Jay Z are flawless, I am very happy they decided to write this song together.

5. Nsync – This I Promise You/Bye Bye Bye/It’s Gonna Be Me (2000).

I love how this performance transitions from song to song, from a ballad and then to a upbeat song. When I watched this as kid, I remember thinking to myself “Wow, great dancing, but also kind of sexual”. Haha, to this day I still think that! I thought the performance was unique, but my favorite part was the screen faces. Little did they know that technology was slowly making it’s way to the music world to deliver stunning concert experiences.

4. Britney Spears – Baby One More Time/Crazy (1999).

The first thing I did when I saw this performance was to memorize the choreography, I love the futuristic/classy theme. When I saw this performance, I knew that Britney will become a huge star!

3. Michael Jackson – Dangerous (1995).

What else can I say about this performance, except for: PERFECTION!

2. Janet Jackson – Doesn’t Really Matter (2000).

Miss Jackson happens to be my second biggest music inspiration, I always memorized her choreography.  I also remember the day as if it was yesterday when I watched it on TV. Time really flies by and for me this is a special performance from the VMAs.

1. Britney Spears – Satisfaction/Oops! I Did It Again (2000).

The Queen of Pop ladies and gentlemen! This will forever be my all time favorite VMAs performance, for me nothing else can top this. Maybe I am being a little biased since she is my all time favorite musician, but I think many people can agree that this performance was epic. I remember sitting in front of the TV mesmerized, I recorded the entire 2000 VMAS on a VHS tape (remember those) and kept re watching this performance. Epic, epic and epic!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post, let me know which is your favorite VMA performance and enjoy tonight’s show!

See you soon!

