Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday! Today I will be sharing Sia’s popular music video, “Chandelier”. I’m sure many music bloggers shared this video already and they talked about it, but I didn’t because I didn’t like the song at the beginning. However, I decided to give it another chance and now I’ve been having it on replay for the last two days.

At first, I didn’t understand the meaning of the song and what “chandelier” is supposed to represent, but I read some comments on YouTube and now I know. Basically, “chandelier” is a metaphor for something fragile that fall and break at any second. Sia wrote this song based on a personal life experience of her almost committing suicide, Sia expressed that she even wrote a suicide note. She stated that she suffered from addiction to painkillers and depression. This song is supposed represent how fragile we can and that any point we can break down. I am very happy she didn’t commit suicide because we would’ve lost a great talent and a wonderful person!

In the past, Sia has told the press that she doesn’t want to be in the public eye, hence, why she doesn’t appear in her music videos. Instead in “chandelier”, she asked Maddie Ziegler from the reality TV show “Dance Moms” to dance in her music video. Many people have stated that the choreography is strange and creepy, people this is called art. There is a meaning behind this dance routine and only a person with a creative mind can understand that.

I hope you enjoy this week’s Music Monday song pick, if you have any requests for particular genres I should post then do not hesitate to write me a comment.

Enjoy 🙂

See you soon!

