Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Lifestyle Sundays and today I want to discuss judgmental people and why a judgmental mentality is wrong. I think this will be more a rant, but I need to write down my thoughts somewhere and my blog is the best platform. Before I begin I would like to point out that I am not imposing my views on anyone, I am merely using my blog as a platform to express my thoughts. Let’s begin and you can join the discussion as well, but please don’t start arguing with each other in the comments box. That’s not cool or nice!

I have a confession to make, I used to be a very judgmental person when I was a teenager. I am very ashamed that I used to be this way, but as I got older I realized I have no right to judge another person’s life or choices. I don’t know them, I don’t know what they’ve been through, so it is incredibly ignorant to judge someone you don’t know or anyone you do know. What changed my entire mentality was a video I watched by a Canadian YouTuber about two years ago. Her video was similar to the post I am writing today and she was explaining she used to be the same way as I was, she also said some things that opened my eyes. On that day I made a vow to myself that I will never be judgmental ever again.

The reason why I got inspired to write this post is because of a friend. She is a good friend of mine, but she seems judgmental. I say this because of the way she speaks about certain things or people. That particular characteristic of hers reminds me of my old self, so I can’t help but get annoyed with the things she says sometimes. I have developed a strong dislike for anyone who may be judgmental. Not hate, but dislike. If this particular individual is my friend or a family member, I’ll try to put up with it, but I won’t enjoy their company as much. I like to surround myself with positive people, who don’t gossip about others and judge them.

Judgment can be seen anywhere nowadays, especially on the Internet. I watch YouTube a lot in my free time and it boggles my mind how critical people can be towards people they never even met in person. One of my favorite YouTube vloggers is “ItsJudysLife”, they are a family with three little girls. They are precious little angels and the family is very loving, but the amount of hate comments these people get is disgusting. People hiding behind a computer screen and critiquing the way the husband eats, the way they take care of the children and so much more. Judgement stems mainly from the different ideologies and beliefs we have about a situation, that’s why people begin to argue and critique. However, something needs to be taken into consideration: not everyone will think like you, not everyone will act like you, not everyone will do things the way you do…and that’s ok. I also think that imposing your will and beliefs on others is a form of judgment. Having a healthy debate about a certain topic is perfectly fine, but if the person tries to change your opinion then that’s not ok with me. No one should make another person feel bad for the things they like or the choices they make because the other individual doesn’t understand the person’s point of view. I actually have a family member who is like this and he turns everything into a debate. It is hard to get your point across because he always thinks he is right, also he is always negative towards other people’s interests. He actually told me once “If I don’t like then it’s stupid”, that kind of mentality is not healthy.

So you may ask me why am I writing about this topic? Well looking at how the world is right now I feel like majority of the issues come from trying to force an ideology or religion onto others. People/countries retaliate in a violent manner because of this mentality, however, it all comes from people’s minds. If we weren’t judgmental maybe we will live more peacefully and happily. I know it’s not as simple as it sounds, but if more people started to change their way of thinking then maybe the world would start becoming better. So if you have a judgmental personality, try to change that because it can affect your relationships with people. So throw the judgment away and try to accept people for who they are instead of trying to change them.

If you liked this post and you want me to write about similar topics like this one, let me know what you want me talk about in the comments box below.

See you soon!

