Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday! If you are a Hunger Games fan then I bet you are pretty excited for the upcoming Mockingjay Part 1 movie in November. Lorde who made her debut with her single “Royals” is releasing a upcoming album and she is also making her  contribution to the Mockingjay Part 1 soundtrack. Lorde has this mysterious and eerie persona which makes her a perfect addition to the HG franchise. Not to mention that she mega talented and I love her songwriting abilities.

Here is a breakdown on what I think about the song: 1) the lyrics capture the story in the first part of the book quite well 2) the humming vocals are distracting and unnecessary 3) the rhythm and beat of the song is semi-upbeat. When I think of the Hunger Games, I imagine songs with a slower rhythm or something in between, this song has a good rhythmic balance. As for the lyrics, they make me think of how Katniss became the symbol of rebellion and she is transformed from the games. She is strong, but broken on the inside! People see her as a strong warrior from the games, but they do not realize that she is not that strong emotionally. Lorde always has a unique way of conveying a message with her unique songwriting skills and I like it. This is the kind of song that you won’t like at first, but then it will start to grow on you. I definitely had mixed feelings when I first heard the song, but I started to like it more as I listened to it. Lorde’s music is different from other musician’s music and I think this is what the music industry needed all this time. Time to set aside songs about clubbing, getting drunk and having sex, songs with meaning are making their comeback.

What do you guys think of the song? I would love to read your opinions and thoughts, so please share them with me 🙂

Enjoy.

See you soon!

