Concert Mania!

Hello everyone,

Concerts are the best, the experience as a whole is always unforgettable and it is so much fun. My first concert experience was “The Circus Tour” (2009) by Britney Spears, one of the best days of my life. Since then, I’ve gone to a concert every year, I made it my goal to go to at least one music event. So a thought struck me and I decided to put together a post sharing pictures and stories of concerts I’ve been to so far. The list as always is endless and I have many more concerts I want to attend in the future.

For now let’s begin with the ones I’ve been to and enjoy 🙂

The Circus Tour/Britney Spears (2009)

I discovered Britney’s music in 1998 and I fell in love with her songs right away, they were so catchy. She is also the musician who inspired me to want to become a performer, to me her performing abilities are flawless. At the time, I still lived in Bulgaria and I knew she wouldn’t come to perform there because Bulgaria is not that well known. Trust me, when I tell people where I was born the response I get is: “Where is that”? Anyway, my dream was always to go and see one of her shows and in 2009 that dream became a reality. When she announced that she will be going on tour I literally freaked out with excitement, the day they announced the tickets are going on sale is the day I bought them. I had to wait a few months before I went to the concert and when the day finally arrived, the excitement was overwhelming. When it was time for her to perform I literally started crying, the thought of me finally making this dream come true was emotional for me. Now you may tell me, “Oh come on, aren’t you over-exaggerating?”, nope I’m not because when you finally see someone who inspires you creatively, it is the best thing ever. Britney has been inspiring me since 1998 and up to now she still continues to inspire me. Despite what people say about her and claiming she is not a good performer anymore, I will not agree. She became famous for a reason and that’s because she has a talent.

Here are some pictures from the concert, please excuse the quality of the pictures my camera was not the best back then

The Pussycat Dolls were the opening act!

MMVAs 2009

There are a number of fun music events in Toronto, but my favorite one is the Much Music Video Awards. This was my first time attending the MMVAs and I had to camp out the entire night to get wristbands. That’s right, it was such a crazy experience, but also so much fun. I went to camp out with three friends in downtown and we got there around 4pm, we brought sleeping bags and magazines to keep ourselves entertained. During the night we took turns walking around downtown and exploring the city. I have to admit, exploring the city at 4am is a pretty awesome memory and experiencing the city is awesomesauce. That night I think I slept for about two hours, the excitement kept me up and also the people smoking next to me (not cool). Around 9am we started to get ready to move down to the main office of Much More Music to get our wristbands, the lineup was around the entire block and the lineup moved very slowly. At 11:30am I finally got my wristband and then I had to wait for two weeks to attend the show. When the day arrived it was a hot summer day in June and once again we had to lineup to show our wristbands, that wasn’t fun because of the heat. Luckily, the lineup moved a bit faster than the one for picking up our wristbands and eventually we got the stage. I was very happy to be that close to the stage and it was awesome to see all of my favorite musicians up close.

This was at sunrise and I was super tired here. I barely got any sleep and it shows on my face.

The Black Eyed Peas!
The Jonas Brothers.

Lady Gaga.
Nickelback.

No Doubt and Paramore Concert (2009)

 To be honest with you guys, the reason why I went to this concert was for Paramore! I love No Doubt and I grew up listening to their music, but I’m not their hardcore fan. The concert was on June 16th and I decided to go with my mom who loves No Doubt, we both got to enjoy the bands we love. The opening act of the concert was Paramore and another band, but I forgot the bands name. Gwen Stefani later on the stage with her band and it was a great show. Gwen definitely gave it her all throughout the concert, it was a fun time for me and my mom.

This was during the “Hey Baby” performance, the energy was contagious.

Britney Spears Femme Fatale (2011)

That’s right, I went to another Britney Spears concert and it was FANTASTIC! I got really excited when Britney released her album “Femme Fatale” because she said that the music is different from her past music. That definitely caught my attention and I when I got the album I was instantly addicted to every song. So when Britney announced she’ll be going on tour, you bet I would buy tickets ASAP. I loved the stage effects and her costumes, to me the show was colorful and better than her “Circus Tour”. I almost forgot to mention that Nicki Minaj was Britney’s opening act and Drake made a surprise appearance at the concert.

Dj Zedd (2013)

I discovered Dj Zedd randomly as I was browsing through VEVO for new music to listen to and when I stumbled upon “Clarity”, I fell in love. Afterwards, I did more research and listened to more of his amazing work. The concert was held in a smaller venue and the lineup to get inside was sooooo long. Not to mention that the concert was in March, so the weather was quite cold. Nevertheless, it was a fun show and I loved the music.

For those of you are curious to see video footage from these concerts, I may put a video together and post it on my YouTube channel. Let me know if you want to see that 🙂

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed this post, see you tomorrow for Music Monday.

Leave a Reply

