Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to International Wonderland, the segment that brings you foreign music weekly!

Guys I have a confession to make, I’ve been cheating on J-pop with K-pop…OMG. Ok, all jokes aside, K-pop has completely won me over and I literally can’t stop listening to it. To me K-pop is very unique and interesting, the music is great and the music videos are really well done. So today I want to share with you the music of my favorite K-pop boy-band, EXO. The song I’ll be sharing is “Overdose”, which is also the first song I heard by EXO.

EXO was formed in 2011 and it consists of eleven members: Suho, Baekhyun, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai, Sehun, Xiumin, Luhan, Kris, Lay, Chen and Tao. The group is divided into EXO M and EXO K, EXO M stands for ‘Mandarin’ and they go to promote and perform their new music in China. While EXO K focus on promoting and performing in Korea and occasionally all of the members together go to China to promote their music. Suho (leader), Baekhyun, Chanyeol, D.O., Kai and Sehun represent EXO K and Xiumin, Luhan, Kris (leader), Lay, Chen and Tao represent EXO M. However, recently there have been changes to the member lineup with Kris and Luhan leaving the group. Both of them sued S.M. Entertainment for not being treated fairly and being overworked to the point of physical and emotional exhaustion.  No one knows if the claims are true, but this isn’t the first time S.M. Entertainment is sued by one of the artists they represent.

Aside from this drama, EXO are considered one of the fastest selling K-pop artist in twelve years. I was immediately drawn to their amazing dancing skills, they manage to be in sync perfectly when they perform. In addition, their vocal work is on point, they sing passion and power. Their music video for “Overdose” is like a futuristic realm with cool special effects and an eye-catching set. I am officially hooked, now the question is…are you?

Let me know if you are K-pop fan and if you are, what are some of your favorite K-pop bands?

Enjoy 🙂

See you soon!

 

