Tags

, , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Lifestyle Sundays! Last time I wrote a post about ‘throwing judgement out the window’ and it seemed like people enjoyed that post, so I decided to write similar post. However, this time we will discussing how to step out of your comfort zone and try new things. I’ve been really enjoying writing these life lesson posts and my biggest inspiration for them is my life and events occurring in my life.

So let’s begin the discussion and feel free to join me in the comments box below, I am always eager to hear what you guys have to say about a specific topic.

Life is all about evolution and change, we are constantly changing from the day we were born. Think of your life as your own story book, you are the author and each chapter is written by you. You hold the pen or pencil and you decide how each chapter is going to be written. It is up to you how the story will progress and what kind of events will take place in your life. However, sometimes there will be bumps along the road of writing, road blocks that will make you feel discouraged and sad. These road blocks will show up out of nowhere, but you have the power to pick up the pen and continue writing. Life is not easy, we grow up and we start to realize that, it is a sad realization. You don’t have to fall victim to its circumstances, because you are a warrior and you need to fight back and write the most beautiful story. Remember that after a storm a beautiful rainbow will come out. Of course, it takes some time for that happen and that means all of you and me need to work hard to get to that point in our lives.

“Everything you ever wanted is one step outside of your comfort zone”.

For the longest time I have thought about this quote and it made me think about how hard it is to take that first step outside of your comfort zone. It is a scary feeling because we fear failure and rejection, but shouldn’t we fear not trying. Does self-esteem come into play when we try to take a risk? Do feel like we are not capable of success like other people? What makes us so different from others, if other people can be happy and do what they love, why can’t we? A negative mindset needs to be eliminated because that’s one of our road blocks. Since I was a child I always had the “I can’t do it” mindset and my mother would get frustrated with me and tell me that I can. Neither of my parents think the way that I do, this is my very own special/stubborn characteristic. Now that I am in my mid-20s, I am getting really tired of it and I want to change. That’s why on New years Eve 2013, I decided that 2014 will be a year of changes and risk taking. I wasn’t planning on procrastinating and not following through with my plans because I finally felt ready to step out of my comfort zone.

When I came to Canada I was very outgoing, talkative and cheerful, but when I started getting bullied at school for having an accent and being a foreigner, I became introverted. I still had a few friends, but I started to become less confident in approaching others. I used to be the type that would walk up to people, tell them my name and start a conversation. That’s how I made friends, but ever since then I became more reserved and I stopped doing that! When I began university my goal was to change and become more outgoing, but I wasn’t very successful. I would become so shy and awkward in social gatherings because I didn’t know most of the people. My shyness started to upset me because it was a barrier and it wasn’t allowing me to be myself. Speaking of being yourself, the best way to open up and make friends is to be yourself. Anyway, one of my goals for 2014 was to step out of my shell and just be myself when I try to make friends. What’s the worst that can happen? They won’t want to talk you anymore? So be it, the right people will love you for who you are and will want to be your friend. This is when I stepped out of my comfort zone and now I feel more confident when I meet new people. It’s not that scary 🙂

My second story of me stepping out of my comfort zone is something I’ve talked about here on blog and it is my zip lining story. I am (I should actually write ‘was’) terrified of heights for the longest time, I live on the sixth floor in my building and I wouldn’t dare to look down from my balcony. However, recently I began to notice a change and my intense wish to become more fearless and adventurous. My friend and I were discussing how it would be fun to do the Edge Walk on the CN Tower, but we were both afraid of heights so we were hesitant. Later on, I discovered that there is a zip lining opportunity at a yearly carnival event in Toronto. Suddenly, I felt the strong urge to do so I told my friend about it and she agreed to try it out. I have spoken about this in greater detail in my other post, but to make the long story short, I did it. I went zip lining and the feeling was thrilling, I felt I like I could conquer anything as long as I face my fears. This was such a huge step out of my comfort zone, but I am so glad I did it because it boosted my confidence 100% and I encourage you all to face your fears. You will end up feeling empowered and that is the best feeling in the world, sometimes we can be too hard on ourselves and we need to do something to show ourselves how amazing we can be.

Now I am going to embark on another journey of stepping out of my comfort zone and that is to sign up for dance classes. One of my biggest dreams in life is to perform on stage, deep down this will be what I’ll always want to do. It’s like a light in me that cannot be suppressed and dimmed. However, when I arrived to Canada when I was 13 as I mentioned above, I became very reserved. This year I have chosen to go against that and fight it with all of my might because people can only change themselves and no one else. The thought of signing up for these classes is incredibly intimidating to me at the moment, dancing in front of others makes me very nervous. Deep down I know I can do this and that I am good at this, so I will try it out before the year ends. Trying out new things for the first time always seems scary and intimidating, but when you get used to it you will see that it’s not a big deal. Wish me luck 🙂

Also, guess what? Writing this post was another “stepping out of comfort zone” moment because I revealed some stuff about myself. Opening up is always scary, but I feel like I can share this with my amazing followers.

Thanks for reading and see you soon!

 

