Music Monday! Selena Gomez -The Heart Wants What It Wants

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Music Monday! So I have to admit that I haven’t been keeping up with American mainstream music for a while, but I do listen to it and I make sure I know all about any new songs. I’m just going through a K-pop phase right now and I’m not sure when it will end. I keep discovering new K-pop artists every week and I can’t seem to stop listening to their music. However, one of my friends told me about a new Selena Gomez song and the music lover that I am, I had to check it out.

The song I am talking about is “The Heart Wants What It Wants”, correct me if I’m wrong but I think this is the first time Selena released such a person song. It’s always a difficult thing to show your vulnerable side to people, but she did it beautifully. The introduction of the song brought tears to my eyes, this song has so much emotion and it felt like Selena’s diary. This song is obviously about her relationship with Justin Bieber, the emotional journey of them getting back together, breaking up and then the same pattern repeating. The black and white music video is a nice touch to match the melody and emotion of this ballad. The lyrics are beautifully written as well, for example:

You got me scattered in pieces
Shining like stars and screaming

Lightning me up like Venus
But then you disappear and make me wait
And every second’s like torture
Hell over trip, no more so
Finding a way to let go
Baby baby no I can’t escape

Such a beautiful song, I can’t wait to hear more ballads by Selena in the future, she has potential as a musician.

Enjoy and let me know what you think of the song!

See you soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

