Lifestyle Sundays! Is Social Media Really That Great?

Over the course of the last 5-6 years, I have been actively involved in the social media world and it all began with YouTube in 2005. Then in 2007, there was a big hype about Facebook and everyone at school were talking about, so I decided to make an account. Two years later Twitter was introduced and I joined that as well, so now I am managing about six social media accounts. It can be overwhelming for someone who doesn’t enjoy the social media world, but I don’t have a problem with it because it is enjoyable for me. However, social media is not all fun and games and I will discuss why in this post.

Before any assumptions are made that I’m bashing social media, keep in mind that if I hated it then I wouldn’t have any social media accounts. I will firsy begin with positive aspects of social media because there are plenty and then proceed to talk about the negative ones!

1. Connecting with people across the globe. 

This used to be something I fantasized about when I was a child, connecting with people from everywhere around the world is an awesome experience. I check my blog statistics daily and it always amazes me that I have people reading my blog from countries like the Philippines, Czech Republic, Japan and many more. On my Tumblr blog I receive messages from followers from Brazil and many other countries. It’s very cool how we can all stay connected when we are so far away from each other. Social media has also given me the opportunity to keep in touch with friends who live in Bulgaria. Communication across the globe has become so much easier and practical for people.

2. Expressing yourself!

Some people have so much to say and want to talk about their passions and interests, but they don’t know where to express themselves. Thankfully, social media has provided many platforms for aspiring musicians, comedians, artists and people who want to discuss various topics. For myself, I’ve always been creative and I was desperately seeking a way to express my creativity. For me it all began with YouTube when I decided to start making anime music videos, being introduced to digital media became my passion. I was so obsessed with it that I almost decided to study “Media Studies” in university. I became inspired when people praised my work, it made me work harder and deliver better videos to my viewers. After I stopped making videos, blogging became another platform to talk about things that I like. There are so many amazing bloggers out there who share their passions and I love to see how the blogging community is growing. It gives people the opportunity to shine and be recognized for their passions.

3. Meeting new people!

This one is tricky, you have to be careful because there are all kinds of people online and you need to make smart choices. You can’t trust someone you’ve met online because you don’t know them, but in some circumstances it is not bad. For example, I have met a few people who have met their significant other online and I’m not talking about those dating websites. They simply began chatting with one another, found out they have a lot on common and now they are engaged. You can also meet friends online, I personally haven’t but I do chat with some bloggers on WordPress. Even famous YouTubers have met their best friends online, so social media can be a good thing. As long as you use it wisely!

4. Promoting businesses.

Social media has become a vital tool for potential entrepreneurs who want to promote their businesses. They join various platforms such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to promote their work. Things are not like the old days and in order to reach and gain new customers, social media is the way to go. It’s easy and quick to share upcoming changes and new products, for example I follow a Facebook fanpage of a candy shop in my city and they updated it daily. They share new chocolates and candy they have received in their store and the interaction between the owner and customers is a smart marketing move.

Ok now that we discussed the positive aspects of social media, it is time for the negative!

1. Procrastination.

You have a big paper to write and it is due in a few days, but you can’t stop watching YouTube videos. Does that scenario sound familiar to you guys? Don’t try to deny it, we’ve all done it at one point in our lives. I am the queen of procrastination and I have done it many times in university. However, this is a bad habit and it is not a good idea to get used to it. Work always comes first, so it is important to prioritize your tasks, rather than pushing them aside for later. I think your YouTube watching experience would be much more enjoyable if you didn’t have a pile of stuff to get done.

2. Low Self-Esteem.

Have you ever scrolled through Facebook or Instagram and caught yourself thinking “Wow their lives seem so much more exciting than mine, I wish mine could be like theirs”? If your answer to my question was “yes”, then know that you are not alone. It has been claimed that social media has makes people feel insecure and depressed because they compare their lives to people on their friends list. One thing that should be kept in mind about this whole thing is that people only post the positive aspects of their lives, but just like any other person they have their struggles too. Social media is not a diary, so they won’t post personal details about themselves, unless they are an incredibly open person. Facebook, Twitter and Instagram should about interacting with your peers and having fun, not to make you feel bad about your life. If it does make you feel miserable, get away from it for a while until you begin to feel better about yourself.

3. Isolation.

People can become addicted to social media to the point where they choose to stay at home and socialize less. Social media is supposed to connect us to one another, but it seems like it does the opposite. When I’m commuting to work, I like to browse websites on my phone, but I started to notice everyone have their heads down looking their phones. It made me think that we are becoming an anti-social society, we rather check out social media profiles rather than interacting with one another. People also prefer to stay at home and watch Netflix all day, I am guilty of that sometimes but I put an end to it this year. I rather be outside having fun with my friends, but I managed to balance both in a healthy. However, some of us don’t know how to do that and people end up isolating themselves. Life will fly by and if you spend it in front of the computer screen day after day, you will not accomplish any of the things you want. Do not let social media stand in your way!

4. Cyber-bullying.

Bullying is a serious issue and I’ve talked about it here on blog, I am very passionate about it and I want to see it end. With technology bullying can be taken to a whole another level and it can be very toxic. Every time I’m on Youtube, Tumblr, Instagram or Twitter, I always see people writing horrible comments to one another. I’m not going include specifics, but it consists of a lot of swearing and threats. I first heard about cyber-bullying in high school when one girl was crying because she was bullied on MSN. Social media is not about demeaning others and making them feel bad about themselves, if you are reading this right now and  you do it…STOP.
To anyone who is going through cyber bullying, close you account and get away from it because toxic people will not stop. To any young person online, be careful!

Well that concludes my post for today, I hope you enjoyed it. Let me know what you think about social media. Remember, on my blog you have to be respectful in the comments section, be kind.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

