Tags

, , , ,

Hello everyone,

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas, mine was quiet but relaxing and that’s exactly what I need. Working with children can be tiring and noisy, so I am cherishing every moment of peace and quiet I get during my break.

Now that Christmas is over, New Years is just around the corner and it is the time to start thinking about new years resolutions. I used to be the type who thought it was pointless to make any because for some reason I never followed through with them. In the past year this has changed and I want to tell you why it’s important to write down new years resolutions!

A new year is an indicator for a new beginning, some of us like to think of it as a time when you can start over. I used to think that, but I took it a step further and thought of it as a continuation of my unfinished work from the past year. I also think that we shouldn’t have to wait every single year for New Years to motivate us to take action. We should consistently try to work on our goals throughout 365 days of the year. However, we are all different in our approach to things and that doesn’t always work. So why should we even bother making a new years resolution list? Because it can motivate you, print out your new years resolutions and tape it on your wall. That way every day when you look at that paper, you can be reminded about what you need to accomplish by the end of the year. For 2014 I made a phone wallpaper with all of my resolutions and I set it up as my lock screen wallpaper. This first thing I do in the morning is to look at my phone and that is the first thing I see. Repetition is key to getting on track with your new years resolutions, reminding yourself of your goals is essential for success.

We have heard people have the following conversation:

Person #1: Did you make a new years resolution list?

Person #2: Oh yeah, totally! This year is going to be different, I can feel it. I’ll have them all crossed of my list.

A month later…

Person #1: Whoa what are you doing? I thought you said you are not going to eat chocolate anymore. Isn’t that one of your resolutions for the year?

Person #2: Ha, did you really think that was going to happen. I say that every year, face it, new years resolutions are pointless. No one actually follow through with them…

I have heard this kind of conversation manyyy times and I used to the one who would say such things! It happens, we have one tiny setback and we go back to square one. That doesn’t have to be a justification for giving up and making it seem like it’s okay to not try our best. The important thing is to be persistent, if you fail then keep getting up and pushing forward no matter how many times it takes. The good thing about new years resolutions is that it can show you how much progress you’ve been through an entire year. Two years ago I made a decision to start writing my resolutions on my blog and before I knew it, it became my biggest source of motivation. I have an audience of people who read my post and I felt like I have the responsibility to show them that I didn’t procrastinate. I also have the responsibility to myself to follow through with what I say, but when I write it here I feel that I have to report to you guys by the end of the year.

I certainly do not have to do this, but I chose to do it because it inspires me! If people see that I did it and I was successful, someone who is reading my blog will feel inspired too. I always want to inspire people and show them that goals are possible to achieve! So do not take new years resolutions for granted and write down a precise list. Start with small resolutions, you don’t want to set high expectations and then fail. When I started working out one year ago, I started with a five minute workout and eventually I moved on to an advanced 45 minute Pilates workouts (I’ll talk about my workout routine in a upcoming post). Take it slow, you are not in a rush and all that matters is that you are actually taking action.

Now it’s time for the yearly check in and see how many of my 2014 New Years Resolutions became a reality. The ones that were achieved will be bolded, so let’s have a look:

  1. Participate in dance classes.
  2. Spend less and save more. 
  3. Relax more and cope better with daily stressors.
  4. Learn how to play a guitar.
  5. Learn Japanese! 
  6. Write more album review posts.
  7. Start my own YouTube channel. 
  8. Cook more. 
  9. Start running. 

As you can see, I need to work 10x harder in 2015, but five out of nine is not that bad. I am very happy that I became a frugal shopper and I manage my finances better, I attended a Japanese trial class and I am learning Japanese on my own at the moment. I started my YouTube channel and I uploaded two videos (my photography slideshow and a vlog from a Japanese festival). I started cooking more healthy dishes and I am getting better at cooking in general, I also started running in the summer and at the gym on the treadmill. As for the ones I didn’t accomplish, I will be working on those in the new year.

So now it is time for the updated 2015 New Years Resolution list!

1. Become more active on my YouTube channel! My goal is to make mini montages of my city and fun vlogs from my adventurous outings with friends.

2. Learn how to play the guitar! This summer I bought my  first guitar, but now comes the hard part…learning how to play it. This is a little bit intimidating for me because I don’t know how to read music, but someone told me “If other people can do it, why can’t you?” I’ll always remember this wise advice!

3. Attend dance classes! Unlike singing (it needs a lot of work), dancing is something I am skilled at doing and for the longest time I’ve wanted to go to a dance class. I’ve become a little bit shy over the years and my biggest roadblock is “But people will watch me dance”. That’s exactly what I want, I want people to see my talent but at the same time I am still a little bit nervous. I promise you guys, I will go to dance class this year!

4. Become more confident! I’ve always been confident, but I can be more confident and not be so hard on myself all the time. I don’t know if anyone can relate, but not being too confident in yourself is not fun. It makes you feel insecure around people and that is something I want to eliminate. I am very curious to know if anyone else feels this way, if you do let me know in the comments box. We can work together and motivate one another!

5. Figure out my career path! Even though I went to school for four years to get my education, I have this feeling that what I’m doing now is not meant for me. I am at a point in my life where I am trying to figure it out and there are a million things I want to do. I love working with children, but I also see myself doing other things. It is time to seriously think things over, ahhh the complicated life of the 20-somethings.

6. Stay vegetarian! It’s been three weeks since I stopped eating meat, I’m not sure how long it will last, but I don’t want to fail. I want see if I’ll follow through in the new year, if you are vegetarian and you want to give me some tips, please do so 🙂 ( I kind of miss Korean BBQ :S).

7. Relax better! I know the things I need to do to help me relax, but I need to stop thinking about the things that stress me out while I’m relaxing. That’s why this year, I am going to try to detox my mind from any worries that keep me up at night and just chill out. Being an over-thinker is a pain in the behind, so I definitely want to go back to my mellow self.

8. Sign-up for a running marathon! Now that I’m active and I do so many different workouts, it is time to challenge myself. I want to sign up for a marathon and see how well I’ll do, but before that I’ll have to train a lot. I am so ready and so pumped up for this.

9. Attend a cooking class! I know how to cook, but I always thought going to a cooking class would be a lot of fun and meet new people.

10. Continue studying Japanese! I want to learn Japanese well enough, so I can be able to have a conversation with a Japanese person. The reading part of the learning process is not a priority yet!

So here are my resolutions for 2015, I tried to think of any other resolutions I had in mind, but that’s pretty much all. Let’s work hard this and make our new years resolutions a reality!

Please share with me one resolution for 2015 and how you plan to achieve it, it helps to share it with someone.

Good luck and see you soon!

