Top 20 Songs Of 2014!

Hello everyone,

It is time for my end of the music wrap-up, I have to say that 2014 was not the best year for music. If I had to completely honest, I was very disappointed! Nevertheless, there were some songs that were pretty good and will be known as classics in a few year. So sit back, grab a beverage and enjoy 🙂

TOP 20 SONGS OF 2014!

headphones_music_photography_b_1920x1200_wallpaperhi.com

20. G-Dragon and Taeyang – Good Boy.

I have to show some love to my favorite Korean song at the moment, “Good Boy”, this song received mixed reviews from fans. However, I think this song was something new and refreshing from G-Dragon and Taeyang. It has an upbeat funky beat that makes you want to dance, the dance version of the song is so much fun as well. Many fans have stated they do not like the song because it is too “Western”, I do admit it that reminds me  of “Turn Down For What” by Lil Jon. But who said that Western music is the norm, I highly disagree and I think GD and Taeyang have delivered an original fun clubbing track! Even if you are not a K-POP fan, trust me you have this song on replay when you listen to it!

19. Gwen Stefani – Baby Don’t Lie.

Gwen Stefani being back to the music scene is like getting a piece of my past back, I used to listen to her music non-stop since middle school. Hearing that she would make a comeback made me very happy and her song “Baby Don’t Lie” is definitely as catchy as her old music. This song mixes pop/reggae and it never sounded so good, it did not perform that well on the song charts. However, in my books this song is a number one!

18. Mark Ronson ft. Bruno Mars – Uptown Funk.

Bruno Mars can do no wrong, he proves over and over again that he is a force to be reckoned with. This retro inspired music video makes me feel like I’m in the 80s, it also reminds me of classic Michael Jackson music videos. “Uptown Funk” turned out to be the most streamed track in the United Kingdom, streamed 2.9 million times in a week. Funky song indeed 😉

17. Maroon 5 – Animal.

Maroon 5 are so good at writing and producing catchy tunes and “Animal” is one of them this year. I love the song, but I have different feelings about the concept of the music video. Showing a stalker obsessed with a girl, following her around and taking pictures of her is quite disturbing.  I think there could’ve been other ways to make the music video so it doesn’t seem like it glamorizes violence. The song debuted number one on the US Mainstream Top 40 and US Adult Top 40.

16. Calvin Harris – Summer.

I am all about an upbeat song that can’t make me sit still, Calvin Harris brought to us funky tune that makes us want to dance. The song debuted number one on the UK Singles chart and the US Hot Dance/Electronic Dance chart.

15. Charli XCX – Boom Clap.

“Boom Clap” is the first song featured on The Fault In Our Stars soundtrack, this is a catchy pop tune that you will listen to over and over again. The song debuted number one on the Billboard US Mainstream Top 40 and US Dance/Mix Show Airplay.

14. Selena Gomez – The Heart Wants What It Wants.

Selena Gomez has never been the type to convey her personal emotions in a song, but this year it was an exception. Selena sang a beautiful, tear-jerking ballad that  I assume is written about Justin Bieber. I think the song is beautiful and I love it when an artist pours their heart and soul into a song. Also Selena’s performance for this song at American Music Awards was stunning and beautifully done.

13. DJ Snake ft. Lil Jon – Turn Down For What.

This is probably one of the most popular clubbing tracks of 2014, it does have a fun beat, but a terrible music video. The single has sold about 3.4 million copies and it debuted  number one on the US Rhythmic Chart and the US Hot Dance/Electronic Songs.

12. Ariana Grande ft. Iggy Azalea – Problem.

I think it’s safe to say that Ariana Grande is modern day Mariah Carey, her voice is amazing. When I first heard one of her songs on the radio, I literally thought I was listening to a new Mariah Carey song. We had a lot of newcomers this year, but Ariana Grande is my favorite because every song she releases is my liking. The song she sings are so catchy and “Problem” is one of them! I initially liked this song because it gives me a retro vibe of the 90s music and I love the saxophone instrumentals. The song debuted number one on many songs and won a few awards i.e. MTV Video Music Award and a Teen Choice Award.

11. Iggy Azalea ft. Carli XCX – Fancy.

It’s been quite a year for newcomer rapper Iggy, she received some backlash from the hip-hop community, but she also received her very first Grammy nomination for Record of The Year and Best Pop/Duo Group Performance. I’ve never seen someone have such a bumpy road to stardom in the music community, especially from her peers. However, she made it in the music industry for a reason, so kudos to Iggy. “Fancy” became one of the most streamed songs on Spotify, it received a Grammy nomination and overall it had positive reviews from the music critics. The song also debuted number one on many songs charts in multiple countries. Keep up the good work Iggy!

10. Katy Perry – Dark Horse.

Despite there being some controversy about the song, “Dark Horse” did really well. The song millions of copies worldwide and it was nominated for a Grammy Award: Best Pop Duo/Group Performance!

9. Ed Sheeran –  Thinking Out Loud.

When I listen to this romantic ballad, I imagine dancing to this song at my wedding one day! “Thinking Out Loud” debuted number one on the Billboard UK Singles Chart, Ed Sheeran always delivers beautiful soulful music. I can’t wait to see what he has in store for us in 2015.

8. John Legend – All of Me.

“All of Me” was released on August 12, 2013, but it reached popularity in 2014 with the single debuting at number one on Billboard Hot 100. This power ballad reaches into our hearts and makes us feel the emotion John Legend is trying to convey.

7. Pharell Williams – Happy.

There is just no way I cannot include this fun and cheerful song on the top 20 list, it is an absolute must. “Happy” is a song from the Despicable Me 2 soundtrack and it became such a success that people made their own versions of the song i.e. Happy in Tokyo, Happy in England and etc. The song received an Academy Award nomination, but unfortunately lost to “Let It Go” from Frozen. The chart performance for this song is so impressive, it was number one in many countries around the world. If this song doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know what will!

6. Idina Menzel – Let It Go.

Let it go, let it gooooo, I can’t begin to tell you all how much the children at work sang this song, every single day this year! There is something about it that you can’t get it out of your head, the song won an Academy Award for Best Original Song. I’m sure the children will continue singing this song in 2015 as well 🙂

5. Meghan Trainor – All About That Bass.

The media gratifies people with skinny physiques and even resort to Photoshop to create that “perfect” body, but Meghan Trainor showed some love to people with curvier bodies. I think  songs like “All About That Bass” need to happen more often, so young people can feel more confident. However, people have been saying that she is shamming people with skinny physiques, here is what she had to say about it:

“Oh God man, I don’t criticise skinny people! I would never shame a skinny person! I don’t know who would want to. I guess they stop listening immediately after I say ‘skinny bitches’ and just turn it off. But I say, ‘…just kidding, I know even you think you are fat’. For instance, I have skinny friends and some of them will stand in front of the mirror and go, ‘eugh, I’m just like so big’. And I’m standing there going, ‘Jesus! If you’re big then what am I!?’ That’s not right. So I was just saying that. There was a huge Twitter account that made a blog about ‘this is a body shaming song’. I was like, ‘oh my goodness, okaaay…’ I don’t get it. No, I would never shame a skinny person. It makes no sense.”

I think sometimes people’s words can be misunderstood, but I understand what she meant. Despite everything, this song became a hit in 2014 and it even received two Grammy nominations: Record of The Year & Song of The Year! Not to mention that it did fabulously on the singles charts, Trainor has a long and bring music career ahead of her.

4. Sam Smith – Stay With Me.

Sam Smith is like a new gem in the music industry, his voice and talent is absolutely amazing. I am such a big fan of this song and my mom has it on replay almost every single night (yes, she is obsessed). Sam Smith’s vocal power is out of this world, the music industry needs more amazing talent like this. This wonderful ballad not only slayed the song charts, but it earned three Grammy nominations for Record of The Year, Song of The Year and Best Pop Solo Performance!

3. Taylor Swift – Shake It Off.

Taylor Swift proves to us again that she can top those charts and get those Grammy nominations! This time Taylor came back with a brand new album titled “1989” that has a different sound from her past work. It looks like Taylor decided to take a break from country music and enter the pop music world. As someone who doesn’t like country music, I am very happy with her decision to try something new. “Shake It Off” is such a fun song to listen to, the music video also seems very creative and entertaining too. The song earned three Grammy nominations: Record Of The Year, Song Of The Year and Best Pop Solo Performance.

2. Sia – Chandelier.

Sia is known as a musician who does not show her face in public, during live performances and in music videos. For this song Sia chose Maddie Ziegler, a young child dancer who stars on the hit reality TV show, Dance Moms. Sia personally contact Maddie to perform a contemporary routine for her new song, Chandelier. The song is written about Sia’s past struggles with alcohol and prescription drugs.‘”Chandelier” received four Grammy nominations for Song of The Year, Record of The Year, Best Pop Solo Performance and Best Music Video.

1. Lorde – Yellow Flicker Light.

My number one choice for the best  song in 2014 is Lorde’s single, “Yellow Flicker Light”! When I heard the song for the first time and listened the humming part, it made me question whether or not I’ll be a fan. After I watched The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1, my mind changed and I fell in love with this song. There is something about the lyrics and overall feel of this single, it sounds so eerie and cool! A little fact you guys might want to know is that Lorde was the one who handpicked all of the songs for the Mockingjay Part 1 soundtrack. Wow, I know! The song was written for the main characters of the series, Katniss, rising to be the symbol of rebellion. Not only that, but “Yellow Flicker Light” was nominated for Best Original Song at the 72nd Annual Golden Globe Awards.

That wraps it up, I can’t wait to see what the music world will bring to us in 2015 and I am ready for it. Please share with me your favorite song of 2014 🙂

Happy New Year to you all and see you soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “Top 20 Songs Of 2014!

Leave a Reply

