Friday Funday! The Throwback Tag.

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Funday Friday, the segment that brings you fun posts to enjoy!

Today I want to do The Throwback Tag because I reminiscent about my childhood often and I thought this would be the perfect tag post. So sit back and enjoy 🙂

13767594093ea54

1. What year were you born in?

I was both in 1989, 80s baby wooo!

2. Do you have any pictures of yourself from when you were younger? If you do, show them.

Sure thing, I left my baby pictures back in Bulgaria, but I’ll share one of my favorites from when I was four years old.

951_98554135577_4935_n

3. What TV shows did you grow up watching?

Good ones, haha, but jokes aside I watched Tom and Jerry, The Jetsons, The Flinstones, Powerpuff Girls, Sailor Moon, The Pink Panther, The Looney Tunes series, Mickey Mouse, Animaniacs and the list just goes on and on.

When Cartoon Network was good!

4. What did you want to be when you grow up and do you still want to be that?

Many things and now I don’t want to be any of those anymore because I have my chosen career. I wanted to be a mathematician (that’s laughable because I am horrible at math), an artist (I can’t even draw, but I am good at graphics design so I guess I’m artistic in a way), a dentist (I get grossed out easily, so that’s out of the question), a bank teller and a teacher. I realized later on in that teaching is not for me and I will never enjoy it, that’s why I chose to be a child and youth care counsellor, helping children in need is a rewarding job. Now I just have to figure out how to satisfy my creative side and make that a career too. Why not have to careers, right? 🙂 I have a lot of ambitions.

5. Show a video of yourself when you were younger.

I actually don’t have any, my family was not the type to record videos of me as a child, instead they will photograph me.

6. What were your favorite toys to play with?

Barbies and stuffed animals, I would play with those for hours and hours. I also loved to collect the toys from Mcdonalds Happy Meal, those were the best.

7. What’s the most embarrassing thing that you can remember doing?

Ok I have two, but I’ll share the first one only because it is less embarrassing! I was probably in fourth or fifth grade and I was hurrying to get to my next class (btw this was still in Bulgaria). I was running and as I reached the stairs I tripped and fell down the stairs with my head facing downwards. When I got to the bottom I felt a bit disoriented, it all happened so fast and when I turned around every student was looking at me. I didn’t think, my body just moved on its own and I sprinted up the stairs to the end of the hallway. I don’t think I’ve ever ran so fast in my life, I was glad to have escaped the situation before anyone made a comment lol. Now when I look back on this moment, it makes me laugh 🙂

8. Read something you wrote when you were in Kindergarten.

Unfortunately, I don’t have anything saved from when I was Kindergarten.

9. Three songs you loved to listen to as a child.

Baby One More Time by Britney Spears, I Want It That Way by Backstreet Boys and It’s Gonna Be Me by NSync. Who else misses the late 90s teen pop era? I certainly do 🙂

10. What was one funny thing you dressed up as for Halloween when you were younger?

Halloween was not celebrated in Bulgaria, therefore I never dressed up for Halloween as a child.

11. Tell a funny story of something you remember happening when you were young.

It seems like all of my funny stories revolve around me being clumsy and falling or just being a mischievous child. One funny story I have was when I was the cottage and I was swinging on those swings that you lay on and I ended up flipping over and falling right on my face. I am actually laughing as I’m writing this and the funny thing about this was that my loose tooth fell out. My neighborhood witnessed the whole thing and congratulating me on my lose tooth. LOL!

12. Are there any special things you’ve kept from when you were a child?

I have kept all of my stuffed animals because each one reminds of something special, but majority of the things I have from my childhood are still in Bulgaria. However, I have a very special heart locket that I got on my 10th birthday, it is my favorite item from my childhood.

13. What was something weird you used to do as a child?

Haha, um, well when I was a five years old I had a huge obsession with The Lion King, so I would pretend I’m a lion. I guess I consider it weird because I used to tell my mom that I wanted to be born a lion LOL. She was a bit concerned, but after watching the movie a million times, I eventually got over my dream to become a lion. Children have the weirdest ideas and also the wittiest things to say!

14. What’s the scariest thing you remember that happened to you when you were younger?

Oh, nothing can top this, absolutely nothing! I was at home by myself, my grandma went to my next door neighbor for a few minutes and I decided to check out what was playing on TV. I stumbled upon the movie, Chucky, I had no idea it was scary because it was the beginning of the movie. To make this long story short, I watched the whole movie and I was absolutely traumatized. I ran to my room, picked up my toys, threw them in my closet and started yelling “I know you can talk, so you better start now!” I was freaked out for a very, very, very long time and to this day I hate any horror movies. I did try to attempt and watch Walking Dead and that traumatized me too. Sorry peeps, any movie with gruesome monsters is not for me.

15. How is the world now different from how it was like when you were a child?

Children know a lot more and do a lot less because of technology. I love technology and there is no doubt about that, but I am careful not to become a hermit at home behind the computer. I am a hermit on Sundays when I have my lazy day, you need to be lazy at least one day of the week. When I was a child, I didn’t have the electronic devices kids have today and I would entertain myself at the park with my friends. Maybe it’s an old school mentality, but I believe a childhood is made outside and playing with the other kids. One of my best moments from my childhood was when I went to the park, I have soooooo many stories. Nowadays, children have cellphones, tablets and DS! I think my future children will hate me, but I will not give them any of those things until they are in high school…except for maybe the DS to play with on the weekends (yes, I have my parenting all figured out for the future). I would want my children to feel the joys of being outside, they will not make any special memories if they play video games all day. I work with children, so I know some of them do that during the weekend. Also children have access to everything because of the Internet and that is not always a good thing.

Also the world seems different than when I was child because it has become more violent. As a child I would walk home from school (back in Bulgaria) and not worry about anything happening to me. Nowadays, it doesn’t feel as safe anymore and that’s sad because I want my future children to experience the security I felt when I was growing up. I guess I want the best and most secure life for my children and any child in world 🙂

There is a garden in every childhood, an enchanted place where colors are brighter, the air softer, and the morning more fragrant than ever again. ~Elizabeth Lawrence

0bebc-page-break-symbol

I hope you guys enjoyed this post, please share with me one of your most fond childhood memory 🙂

I want to share with you one final thing and that a video of the ending of the evening kids program in Bulgaria. This brings back sooooo many memories, there are days when I miss being a child, but look back on these videos and it’s like I’m a kid again.

See you soon!

Leave a Reply

