Tags

, , ,

Hello everyone,

It is that time of the year again…Grammy Awards Weekend!!! It is is also time for my predictions post, this has become a tradition on my blog. So far every year my predictions have been accurate, except for a few exceptions. Let’s see how I do this year and I would love to hear from you, who you think will win in each category.

Let’s get started!

0bebc-page-break-symbol

1. RECORD OF THE YEAR

Stay With Me (Darkchild Version)
Sam Smith
Steve Fitzmaurice, Rodney Jerkins & Jimmy Napes, producers; Steve Fitzmaurice, Jimmy Napes & Steve Price, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, mastering engineer
Label: Capitol Records

Sam Smith arrived to the music industry like a ray of sunshine, his voice has so much power and emotion. I believe this will be Sam Smith’s year and he will take most of the awards.

2. ALBUM OF THE YEAR

 Beyoncé
Beyoncé
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Drake, Jay Z & Frank Ocean, featured artists; Ammo, Boots, James Fauntleroy, Noel “Detail” Fisher, Jerome Harmon, Hit-Boy, Beyoncé Knowles, Terius “The Dream” Nash, Caroline Polachek, Rey Reel, Noah “40” Shebib, Ryan Tedder, Timbaland, Justin Timberlake, Key Wane, Pharrell Williams & Patrick Wimberly, producers; Boots, Noel Cadastre, Noel “Gadget” Campbell, Rob Cohen, Andrew Coleman, Chris Godbey, Justin Hergett, James Krausse, Mike Larson, Jonathan Lee, Tony Maserati, Ann Mincieli, Caroline Polachek, Andrew Scheps, Bart Schoudel, Noah “40” Shebib, Ryan Tedder, Stuart White & Jordan “DJ Swivel” Young, engineers/mixers; Tom Coyne, James Krausse & Aya Merrill, mastering engineers
Label: Columbia Records

3. SONG OF THE YEAR

Chandelier

 Sia Furler & Jesse Shatkin, songwriters (Sia)
Track from: 1000 Forms Of Fear
Label: RCA Records / Monkey Puzzle Records; Publishers: EMI Music Publishing Inc./EMI April Music Inc./Aidenjulius Music
‘Chandelier” is one of Sia’s most talked about singles in 2014, from the music video to her very personal song. Not only did Sia show us an incredible vocal power, but she also wrote a powerful song from the heart about her personal life struggles. She will be a winner!
4. BEST NEW ARTIST

Sam Smith

Label: Capitol Records

This was a tough decision, I kept going back and forth between Iggy and Sam, but Sam Smith made a bigger impression. He has got this!

5. BEST POP SOLO PERFORMANCE
Shake It Off
Taylor Swift
Label: Big Machine Records
I am not a big fan of Taylor’s music, mainly because I do not listen to country music. However, this year she pleasantly surprised me with this catchy tune! Trying something different from the country genre was a good strategy to gain more fans and she deserves to get the award for this category. I definitely listen to her music more now ever since she tried to record more pop songs.

6. BEST POP DUO/GROUP PERFORMANCE
Fancy
Iggy Azalea Featuring Charli XCX
Track from: The New Classic
Label: Def Jam Recordings
“I’m so fancy, you already knowwww”, I have this song stuck in my head and it claimed its place as number on Billboard charts for weeks.
7. BEST TRADITIONAL POP VOCAL ALBUM

Cheek To Cheek
Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Label: Streamline/Columbia/RPM/Interscope

8. BEST POP VOCAL ALBUM

My Everything
Ariana Grande
Label: Republic Records

I was very torn between Sam Smith and Ariana Grande, however, I believe she will win because she has very strong vocals. We haven’t had a female performer who sings like this since Christina Aguilera’s debut.

9. BEST DANCE RECORDING

F For You
Disclosure Featuring Mary J. Blige
Disclosure, producer; Disclosure, mixer
Track from: Settle (Deluxe)
Label: Cherrytree/Interscope Records

10. BEST DANCE/ELECTRONIC ALBUM

While (1<2)
Deadmau5
Label: Astralwerks

11. BEST ROCK PERFORMANCE

Fever
The Black Keys
Track from: Turn Blue
Label: Nonesuch

12. BEST ROCK SONG

Blue Moon
Beck Hansen, songwriter (Beck)
Label: Capitol Records; Publisher: Youthless admin. by Kobalt Music Publishing, Inc.

13. BEST ROCK ALBUM

Songs Of Innocence
U2
Label: Interscope

14. BEST R&B PERFORMANCE

Drunk In Love
Beyoncé Featuring Jay Z
Track from: Beyoncé
Label: Columbia Records

15. BEST R&B SONG

Drunk In Love
Shawn Carter, Rasool Diaz, Noel Fisher, Jerome Harmon, Beyoncé Knowles, Timothy Mosely, Andre Eric Proctor & Brian Soko, songwriters (Beyoncé Featuring Jay Z)
Track from: Beyoncé
Label: Columbia Records

16. BEST R&B ALBUM

Love, Marriage & Divorce
Toni Braxton & Babyface
Label: Def Jam Recordings

17. BEST RAP PERFORMANCE

I
Kendrick Lamar
Label: Top Dawg Entertainment/Interscope Records

18. BEST RAP/SUNG COLLABORATION

Bound 2
Kanye West & Charlie Wilson
Track from: Yeezus
Label: Def Jam Recordings

19. BEST RAP SONG

I
K. Duckworth & C. Smith, songwriters (Kendrick Lamar)
Label: Top Dawg Entertainment/Interscope Records

20. BEST RAP ALBUM

The New Classic
Iggy Azalea
Label: Def Jam Recordings

0bebc-page-break-symbol

You may have noticed that I did not include the country music categories in this post, the reason for this is because this year I did not keep up with the country music. Therefore, I didn’t think it was right to include it in this post. I feel confident for the rest of the categories, I am looking forward to see how well I predicted the winners for each category.

Now I am going to go and get ready for my birthday dinner, I am looking forward to the Grammys tomorrow! The perfect way to end a birthday weekend 🙂

See you soon!

