Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone,

When awards season arrives, there is usually one thing on my mind and that is the Grammys! The Grammys is the only award show I look forward to and I really enjoy watching all of the performances. I thought this year’s show was very good compared to the previous Grammy Awards. Today I want to take the time to talk about the Grammys top moments and talk about one thing that happened at the show that really annoyed me.

I bet you are intrigued now, so let’s get started right away!

1. Sam Smith.

Do I need to say more? From his big win, to his inspirational speech to be yourself, I highly respect Sam Smith as a person and as an artist. Artists who write lyrics from the heart and produce beautiful melodies has become rare. They are out there, but hard to find. Sam Smith is a force to be reckoned with, also his duet with Mary J Blige made his performance extra special. Sam Smith took home four Grammys, congratulations!

2. Annie Lennox Puts A Spell On Us.

This is probably my number one favorite performance of the evening, her vocals were so powerful that I was mesmerized. Annie Lennox joined Hozier on stage after he performed his hit single “Take Me To Church”. Sorry Hozier you are great, but you were overshadowed by the epicness of Ms. Lennox.

3. Barack Obama addressing sexual violence and domestic abuse.

President Obama made a surprise appearance at the Grammys with a video talking about two very heavy important topics. After President Obama made his speech, Brooke Axtell  a domestic violence activist and survivor talked about her experiences. One phrase she said that stuck with me was:

Authentic love does not devalue another human being. Authentic love does not silence, shame, or abuse.

Well said, after Brooke Axtell’s cameo, Katy Perry joined the stage with beautifully raw performance “By The Grace Of God”. Katy Perry said that this song is inspired from her experience with divorce from her ex-husband, Russel Brand.

4. Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett.

I already talked about this performance in my Music Monday segment, however I need to talk about it again. These two working together is just lovely, Lady Gaga’s singing seemed so effortless. It made me want to see Lady Gaga release an album with 1920s inspired songs and ditch the overly eccentric fashion. She can pull of classy and as for Tony Bennett, well he is phenomenal as usual.

5. Prince.

This man never fails to make me smile with his comments, “Albums, remember those” is what Prince said as he walked up on stage to present the Album of The Year Award. He has a point and basically said what I’ve been thinking about the music industry for a long time. Mainstream music has become so bad, that I prefer to listen to Jpop and Kpop.

6. Kristen Wiig and Maddie Ziegler Dance.

When I saw Kristen Wiig join Maddie Ziegler on stage to performing I wasn’t too sure what to expect, however her acting and portraying the desperation of a party girl fighting to become free was done so well. The dance and acting flowed well, Sia sure is creative when it comes creating interesting concepts. As for Maddie, I like to refer to her as a dancing prodigy, she is amazing as usual.

7. Stevie Wonder and Usher.

The authenticity of the performance was lovely, this performance did not need auto tune and a true artist does not need these computerized effects if they have talent. Music to my ears!

8. Beyonce was, oh so Godly.

Beyonce channeled her inner saint in her her all-male choir performance, “Take My Hand Precious Lord”. She proves yet again that she can hit those high notes and does it well!

9. Madonna.

The Queen of Pop made a comeback this year with her new album “Rebel Heart” and she did at this year’s Grammys too. Not sure if I am a fan of the Illuminati performance, but Madonne shows us  yet again that she has still got it and can deliver energetic performances.

These are my favorite Grammy moments from the show,  now one thing I want to talk about is Kanye West. Many people anticipated that Beyonce will win for Album of The Year, however the award was given to Beck instead. Kanye West got up on stage and almost did the same thing he did to Taylor Swift in 2009 at the VMAs. We all know Beyonce is a great performer, but there are other artists that deserve this award as much as her. I think that Kanye’s behavior was childish and incredibly rude. Beck is a great artists, I am really glad Kanye didn’t ruin his moment, but getting up on that stage shouldn’t have happen. Despite this event, Beck said that he still thinks of Kanye West as a genius because of his work. No trying to be hater, but Kanye is far from genius in regards to his attitude. I guess this was more of a rant, but I needed to get it off my chest.

 What did you guys think of the Grammys? Which performance did you like and what’s one of your favorite moments?

Make sure to share it with me in the comments box below, that is all for today and I will see you all very soon. I have a lot of new post coming up, so make sure you stop by my blog 🙂

Have a lovely evening or day!

