Japanese Food Galore!

Hello everyone,

Last weekend I decided to go outside, despite the cold weather and visit my favorite Japanese grocery store, Sanko. I was so excited when I found this store last year and now all of the Japanese food I want is within arms reach. They have everything you want, curry, onigiri rice balls, ramen packs, Japanese sweets and kitchen utilities.

Today I want to share with you some of the stuff I bought, I usually enjoy reading or watching videos about Japanese food hauls, so I thought Japanese lovers will enjoy this too.

So let’s get started with this fun shopping haul!

gceqaybcd

DSC00396

I think it’s safe to say that I am drooling as I am looking at this picture, well not really, but you guys get the point.

DSC00397This is sooo delicious, this is like a red bean pancake sandwich! Red bean sweets are a popular Japanese sweet treat and it doesn’t taste like beans at all. It has a nice sweet flavor that’s not super overpowering, like some American or Canadian sweets. They had other flavors too i.e. red bean with chestnuts, but I prefer the original.

DSC00399
I love Japanese curry, the traditional curry is made with potatoes, carrots and a meat of your choice. Since I stopped eating meat, I make this with potatoes, carrots and of course we can’t forget about the rice. It is a  wholesome meal and it is mouthwatering!

DSC00407

If I read the word crispy on a food package, then it will make its way into my shopping cart for sure! I love rice balls, but I got extra excited when I read they are crispy. I haven’t tried them yet, but when I do I will let know how they are (I bet they are going to be delicious!).

DSC00411
Rice onigiri are very popular snack, they are rice balls wrapped in seaweed, if you go to Japan you can find them at convenience stores. Onigiri have different fillings, the ones I got are salmon, pickled mustard leaf, spicy tuna mayo and enoki mushrooms. They are so yummy and always buy at least seven or ten.

DSC00410
This is another popular snack in Japan, dango is a sweet dumpling made with rice flower and it is often served with green tea. They are so chewy and sweet, the one I bought is mitarashi dango. Mitarashi dango is covered with sweet soy sauce glaze, you can’t taste the soy sauce at all. There also other kinds of dango, such as:

Hanami Dango. Hanami means flower viewing and this dango is made during the cherry blossom season in Japan. When the cherry blossoms bloom in the Spring, many people in Japan go to the park and to have a picnic. It really is lovely and a great way to spend some quality time with friends and family.
Goma Dango. Goma dango are rolled in sesame seeds and they have a red bean paste filling. They are the perfect combination of sweet and salty.
Kibi dango. Kibi dango are made of millet flour, sticky rice flour and sugar.

These are just of few, but there are so much more.

DSC00409

I usually get another  sesame salad dressing, but they didn’t have it in stock, so I bought this one instead. It is also tasty and it creamier than the other one I usually buy, it adds a nice flavor to salads.

DSC00408
I squealed when I saw they had this at the store, this the very popular red bean snack called Taiyaki. Taiyaki can also have other fillings such as custard, chocolate, cheese or sweet potato. I’ve never had it and I am sooo excited to finally try it!

DSC00404

I LOVE Pocky, the first time I ever had it was when I went to my second anime convention. Whenever I go to Sanko, I always buy a few boxes of Pocky and this time I wanted to try some new flavors. The Berry Carnival and Coconut Pocky are flavors I’ve never had before, I tried the berry carnival and it tastes amazing. I’ve had the almond crush and I love the combination of almonds and chocolate. As for the coconut Pocky, I still need to try it but I bet it tastes amazing.

DSC00405First of all, can we talk about the adorable packaging? I’m not going to lie, I bought these chocolate candies because of the packaging. However, I knew they would taste amazing and I was right. On the box it looks like the chocolates are covered with powdery chocolate, but they are not. They are tiny with an absolutely delicious strawberry filling, the chocolate is not too sweet and it does not overpower the taste of the strawberry. I need to go and restock soon, these are amazing.

DSC00406

Yet again another yummy red bean dessert and these one have powdered sugar on top. The green one is green tea and I think the pink one is Sakura flavor, but I am not 100% sure. However, I am sure that these are so delicious! I’ve said that about every food item I posted, but it’s the truth.

gceqaybcd

I hope you guys enjoyed this blog post, if you want to see more Japanese inspired post please let me know in the comments box.

Happy Friday and see you soon 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Japanese Food Galore!

  1. Naho

    I love all of these food! I haven’t eaten Japanese sweets for a long time. I miss mitarashi dango and taiyaki! Goma dango might be Chinese, though… They look yummy!

Leave a Reply

