Lifestyle Sundays! Life Crisis in the Life of a 20-something Millennial? Finding My Career Path.

Hello everyone,

I want to try something new on my blog today and talk about everyday topics that we experience in our daily lives. Think of it as a chatting about life over a cup of tea or coffee on the Internet. I think I want to come up with a special name for this segment, but I don’t have any ideas. If you do, please share them with me 🙂

As you can tell from the title, today I will discuss the life crisis of a 20-something Millennial. You may ask me, “What is a Millennial”? A Millennial is anyone born from 1982 to 2000 and we are also known as Generation Y. I read something interesting the other day on a LinkedIn blog and it referred to Millennials as the “Peter Pan” generation. Why? Well, because most of us think being an adult is a nuisance and our lives as kids were easier. I think I relate to that notion, I cringe a little bit when I hear the word, adulthood. However, I enjoy the independence that comes with being an adult, but let’s face it we need a friggin’ manual for this thing called Adulthood. I guess our parents are supposed be like our manual, but in the long run we need to take hold of the steering wheel of our life.

I am a 26 year old Millennial who is experiencing some life crisis, basically finding my own desired career path. It seems like this is the number one thought I have every single day, it is a 24/7 kind of thing. I went to university to study Child and Youth Care, I successfully completed my program and got my degree. However, in my third year of university I realized that this field is not for me. I remember the day very well, we were in class talking about a serious topic and it turned into this big debate. I just sat there uninterested and thought to myself, “Why am I here? This is not what I wanted to do”. When I started my program, I was sure that this is my chosen career path and I felt passionate about this field. I love working with children and helping them, but there was still something missing. I could feel it, but I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what it was. When I had this revelation in my third year of university, I suddenly felt lost. I felt like I had it all together and now not so much! I still feel this way today and I am trying to figure out what to do. If you are at this point in your life and you can relate to me, I am giving you a big virtual hug.

It can be a tedious thing, especially when you see people moving on with their lives so well. There is a saying, “the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence”, we feel this way when we compare ourselves to others. Comparing ourselves to others and their lives is toxic for our minds. I used to do that and I still do it in a way, but I realized you cannot compare your life to someone else’s life. Our lives and the pace of our story is different from other people’s story, so we need to focus on us. We can be in such a hurry to make things happen, we do not realize we need to slow down. So as I am embarking on this journey, I came up with a few tips to help anyone who is experiencing the same thing.

1. Explore

If you are not sure what career path to chose, do some research! Figure out what are your strongest skills and assets, this can be done by volunteering. You can also go online and read about each career you have in mind, read the job description and see if it appeals to you. If you are planning to go back to school, do in-depth research about the field and what the job entails. Scheduling an informational interview will be to your benefit, this is a short 10-15 minute meeting where you can ask various questions about the program of your interest. Another option I want to suggest is to make an appointment for an informational interview with someone in the field and ask them some questions. Such as:

1. What is your job like?

2. How did you get your job? What jobs and experiences have led you to your present position?

3. Can you suggest some ways a student could obtain this necessary experience?

4. What are the most important personal satisfactions and dissatisfactions connected with your occupation? What part of this job do you personally find most satisfying? Most challenging? What do you like and not like about working in this industry?

This will be one of my first steps in acquiring information that will help me find my desired job field. Many people do not do this, I didn’t do this when I was initially applying for university. So try to do as much research as possible!

2. Stop the comparison.

As I mentioned above, comparing your successes to other people’s successes won’t help you at all. You may think, “Well this person is doing better than me”, well maybe this person was in your position too and feeling the same way. Do not compare because it will give you a lot of stress and unwanted negativity, so just focus on you and do what makes you happy. Work at your own pace and do not rush, but don’t sit still either!

3. Making a permanent change?

You may think you don’t want to do the job, but stop and write down the reasons for your choice. Have a pros and cons charts and do some serious soul searching. What makes you unhappy about your current field, if the cons outweigh the pros, then maybe it is time for a change.

4. Do not think you are the only one.

The likelihood that other people are going through the same thing is high. I have a few friends who are in school to study something totally different from their Major. For example, I have classmate who studied child and youth care with me and now she is studying to be a speech therapist. When my cousin was in her 20s,  she went back and forth between two programs before she decided to study Political Science. That just goes to show, what is meant to be will happen eventually!

5. Have a support network.

Let me tell you this from now, there will be many people who will offer their opinion and try to sway your decision. Do not let them!!! You know what’s best for you better than anyone else, but it wouldn’t hurt to have a support network. Sharing your plans with someone is beneficial, luckily my mom is super supportive and encouraging. Same goes for a few of my friends and I am very thankful for the positive vibes these people send me. Even if there is one person in your life who is supportive, it is still enough.

0bebc-page-break-symbol

It felt nice sharing this on my blog, I wrote it with the purpose of showing someone out there that they are not the only one going through this. I want to encourage a discussion in the comments section, so if you want to share a similar story, please do. Also if you want to see more of these type of posts, let me know in the comments box below.

Have a lovely Sunday evening and see you tomorrow for Music Monday!

Sources [http://themillenniallegacy.com/the-millennial-generation/ http://www.quintcareers.com/information_interview.html]

3 thoughts on “Lifestyle Sundays! Life Crisis in the Life of a 20-something Millennial? Finding My Career Path.

  1. Hi,

    I am totally going through the same thing!! I am a 26yr old female, I have what many people aspire to, 6 figs $$$ , my own business, 2 uni degrees and a masters qualification. A few properties and car and bike, an awesome and supportive husband and asked my self the other day “Wtf am I doing in this role?” And you know what- I almost got into my car and drove home! So while I try to figure out my passion, in a non hippie way, I’ll keep working. But until I discover my passion , I will not spend a cent. For when I discover my passion, which will no doubt be a business- I’ll more than likely need some cash!

    It is a very disheartening situation to be in!

    My uni degree seem tedious and boring and my job can be done remotely, yet I am required to attend instead from login remotely from Fiji!

    1. I always say, it doesn’t matter how much money you make. If it is something that makes you unhappy, it’s not worth it.

      Thank you for sharing your story! I hope you find your desired career.

Leave a Reply

