Tags

, , , , ,

Hello everyone,

Welcome back to Lifestyle Sunday!

Do you every find yourself craving junk food in between meals? Do you go to the kitchen to grab chocolate, chips or any other junk food? If the answer to those questions is “yes”, don’t worry because I’ve got a solution to the problem. In my personal experience, I have noticed that I reach for those unhealthy snacks when I can’t think of anything else to eat. For years I would reach for a bag of chips because it is quick and convenient. However, that convenience is not always a good thing because this kind of food is not healthy. Now before any of you jump to the assumption that I eat healthy 24/7, that would be false. Just like any other person out there, occasionally, I enjoy a small bag of chips, chocolate bar or a slice of pizza. You can still eat the food you love, but in moderation and achieving that happens gradually. One day I started to brainstorm some snack ideas that do not require a lot of prep time, so I am going to share with you my six quick and easy snack ideas.

Let’s begin 🙂

0bebc-page-break-symbol

1. Veggies & Hummus!

This one is very easy to make, it is delicious and you have a variety of vegetables to choose from. I like to use cherry tomatoes and cucumbers with regular hummus, for the longest time I used to hate hummus, but now I find it appetizing. If you don’t like hummus, you can use ranch or spinach dip, whatever it is to your liking.  I like get a medium sized  plate, put the vegetables around the hummus. It is a satisfying snack because it has that savory kick you would want in a snack.

DSC00442

DSC00443

DSC00441

2. Seasoned Seaweed and Fruit!

If you love the Asian flavor in foods, then this might be more up your alley! I like eating a lot of Asian food, but I recently also started liking seasoned seaweed. I like to get the sesame seed flavored packages or the ones that are sold at Costco. When I get my seaweed I put about 10 sheets onto a plate and in a small bowl I add some grapes or blueberries. I have discovered that those two fruits go well together with the seaweed. For beverages, I have water or a warm cup of green tea.

3. Kale Chips!

I like to refer to kale as the vegetable from the lettuce family, but with more of a bitter taste when it is eaten raw. I personally prefer to eat it raw, but I also love it as chips. If I feel like dedicating time to make my own kale chips I would, but I’m usually lazy so I buy it from the store. There so many different flavors, such as hemp cream & chive, cheddar, spicy curry lime, pink salt, red peppercorn ranch and so many more. I love eating the cheddar flavored one because it is so delicious and I love cheesy snacks. The brand I buy is Solar Raw Food, you can find it at any natural food store or any supermarket that sells organic products. If you live in Toronto, I recommend going to Fiesta Farms, it is one of my favorite grocery stores for organic food!

DSC00446

DSC00448

4. Coconut Strips!

I made an amazing discovery at Costco last month and coconut lovers will be thrilled about this, I sure was. My routine when I go to Costco is to check every isle, in case I find something I want to buy. This time I discovered coconut strips, they taste amazing! I like to have some in a small bowl with some tangerines, both flavors go well together.

DSC00450

DSC00451

5. Fruit Platter!

I am a huge sweets addict, luckily fruits are a great substitution for my craving. That’s why I prefer to make a fruit platter, but I try to be creative. The most recent fruit platter that I made consists of banana peanut butter sandwiches, strawberries and clementines. It is so so delicious and healthy for you. Natural sugar is the way to go!

DSC00379

DSC00380

6. Quinoa Puffs and Applesauce!

I discovered quinoa puffs at work (I work in a daycare) and they are so yummy! I like to get the plain quinoa puffs because they taste better than the cinnamon and cocoa puffs. I pick two small bowls and fill them up with applesauce and quinoa puffs. It is a small snack, but it will make you feel you up until dinner or lunch time.

DSC00447

DSC00449

DSC00453

0bebc-page-break-symbol

I hope you enjoyed this healthy blog post, I am sure that in the future there will more snacks to add onto the list. However, for now this will suffice! Let me know which snack you will make at home 🙂

Have a peaceful Sunday and I’ll see you soon.

