Geek Corner: Convention Tips!

Hello everyone,

I have a confession to make, I am a full-fledged geek and I think I’ve been one since I was a child. I always gravitate towards nerdy things, that’s why I thought it would be appropriate to create a new segment dedicated to all of the nerdy things I love. I call it, Geek Corner, pretty simple and straight to the point!

The first topic for this segment is conventions, conventions are a wonderful place for people to come together and discuss their favorite shows and movies. Conventions also bring out the creative spirit in people who cosplay as their favorite characters. The word cosplay means fans dressing up as their favorite characters, people put tremendous effort in their outfit creations. I started going to convetions in 2004 (Anime North was my first one) and the last time I attended a convention was in 2007. I simply lost interest in them and I didn’t feel like going anymore, but last year I attended Comic Con for the first time. I heard a lot about it from social media and I was intrigued, so I decided to check it out. While I was at the convention, I got an idea to write a convention tips post for any newbies who will be attending a convention for the first time. These tips will be based on my personal opinion, so they may differ from other people’s tips, please feel free to share some of yours in the comments box below.

Let’s begin.

1. Do not buy a weekend pass.

From my experience, buying a weekend pass is not worth it! You will not see anything new and everything is pretty much the same all three days. Any major appearances from voice actors will spanout over the course of three days! So if you feel like you’ll miss out on meeting someone, dont, but always double check the schedule. I always go on Saturdays because that’s when the day feels more dynamic and fun.

2. Purchase tickets online.

I do realize that some of you may not be old enough to have a credit card, so ask your parents or guardian to purchase it for you. Buying tickets online is easier because you beat the lineups and enter the venue right away. Last year at Comic Con, I didn’t purchase a ticket online and we were told they weren’t any tickets left. As were were about to leave, they announced that there are a few more and we got them. Not everyone can be so lucky, so buy your tickets online!

3. Go early.

Beating the lineups and big crowds is worth it, it will give you some time to look around the merchandise room before it becomes packed with people. I like to be there when the convention doors open or maybe ten minutes after they open, haha. If you are claustrophobic like me, you probably want a few minutes to yourself.

4. Cosplay.

I am always fascinated with people’s ability to create their own costumes, I have seen many impressive designs. I personally have never cosplayed when I went to conventions because I was nervous that people on the public transit will look at me in a weird way. Don’t let that happen to you, it is fun to cosplay because people complement you and acknowledge your designer skills. Plus, you have the opportunity to feel like a celebrity for a day because people want to take your picture.

Great Sailor Moon cosplay picture I found on the internet.

5. Wear comfortable shoes.

You will be on your feet all day, so might as well wear something that will not kill your feet. If high heels, or some kind of uncomfortable shoes are part of your cosplay outfit, bring an extra pair of  comfortable shoes.

6. Bring a snack.

There aren’t always food stands at the venue or restaurants near the venue. This depends on where the venue is located, so if you get hungry throughout the day bring a snack with you. It could be a sandwich or whatever is to your liking.

Not exactly the healthiest snacks, but this will suffice for now.

7. Have fun.

The most important thing is to have fun, enjoy your time there, take pictures (always ask cosplayers for permission before you take their picture) and socialize. Your first convention will be unforgettable and enjoy each moment. Go to the shows performed by cosplayers, meet your favorite voice actors and buy some merchandise.

I hope this post was helpful and enjoyable for some of you, I take requests for future Geek Corner blog posts, so please let me know what you want to see next time.

Thank you for reading and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

