Tags

, , ,

There comes a time in life when this one extraordinary person is born and makes a huge impact in life. A soul that inspires others and doesn’t want to conform to the majority, that person is David Bowie.
I write today’s post with a heavy heart, as I found out David Bowie has passed at the age of 69 from his battle with lung cancer.

David Bowie in 1973

I was in total disbelief when I read the news, I was so excited for his new album and the possibility of him going on tour. This is the second time I have reacted so strongly for the passing of an artist. The first one was Michael Jackson and now David Bowie, one of my heroes!

bow1
I admire him because he was different from other artists, he was unique. His androgynous image was intriguing, when I was a child I thought “wow this guys is weird”, today I say “wow this guy is a genius”. He left behind a legacy that’s one of a kind, he told us its okay to be ourselves and be different. The artist’s hits include Let’s Dance, Changes, Space Oddity, Starman, Modern Love, Heroes, Under Pressure, Rebel Rebel and Life on Mars. He had a long career and a successful one as well:

  • 140 million albums sold since his first release in 1967
  • 111 singles – averaging more than two a year during his career
  • 51 music videos, along with a number of film roles including The Man Who Fell to Earth and Labyrinth
  • 25 studio albums, including Blackstar, which was released two days before his death

His final music video “Lazarus” is chilling, portraying death coming for him. It’s as if he knew it was gonna happen and he decided to make his farewell in the best way he knows. This and his newly released album “BlackStar” was his way of saying goodbye, because he wanted to leave something for his fans! This man who once said that he wants be a superhuman was an extraordinary human being throughout his lifetime.

I read something on Twitter today that said “If you are ever sad, just remember- the Earth is 4.5 billion years old but somehow you existed at the same time as David Bowie”.

His legacy, music and talent will live on for eternity! Rest in peace you wonderful soul.

